Race/Racism

White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide Cover Image
$15.30
ISBN: 9781632864130
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA - September 5th, 2017

National Book Critics Circle Award Winner
New York Times Bestseller
A New York Times Notable Book of the Year
A Washington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of the Year
A Boston Globe Best Book of 2016
A Chicago Review of Books Best Nonfiction Book of 2016


On Being Included: Racism and Diversity in Institutional Life Cover Image
$27.45
ISBN: 9780822352365
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Duke University Press - March 28th, 2012

What does diversity do? What are we doing when we use the language of diversity? Sara Ahmed offers an account of the diversity world based on interviews with diversity practitioners in higher education, as well as her own experience of doing diversity work. Diversity is an ordinary, even unremarkable, feature of institutional life.


Uprooting Racism: How White People Can Work for Racial Justice Cover Image
$22.49
ISBN: 9780865718654
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New Society Publishers - September 19th, 2017

Over 50,000 copies sold of earlier editions Powerful strategies and practical tools for white people committed to racial justice


The New Jim Crow Cover Image
By Michelle Alexander, Cornel West (Introduction by)
$17.96
ISBN: 9781595586438
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New Press - January 16th, 2012

Once in a great while a book comes along that changes the way we see the world and helps to fuel a nationwide social movement. The New Jim Crow is such a book. Praised by Harvard Law professor Lani Guinier as "brave and bold," this book directly challenges the notion that the election of Barack Obama signals a new era of colorblindness.


Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?: And Other Conversations About Race Cover Image
$17.09
ISBN: 9780465060689
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Basic Books - September 5th, 2017


The classic, bestselling book on the psychology of racism--now fully revised and updated


We Too Sing America: South Asian, Arab, Muslim, and Sikh Immigrants Shape Our Multiracial Future Cover Image
$16.16
ISBN: 9781620972731
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New Press - March 7th, 2017

"Powerful...Iyer catalogues the toll that various forms of discrimination have taken and highlights the inspiring ways activists are fighting back. She] is an ideal chronicler of this experience."
--The Washington Post

NOW IN PAPERBACK The nationally renowned racial justice advocate's illumination of the ongoing persecution of a range of American minorities


Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781568585987
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nation Books - August 15th, 2017

The National Book Award winning history of how racist ideas were created, spread, and deeply rooted in American society.

Some Americans insist that we're living in a post-racial society. But racist thought is not just alive and well in America--it is more sophisticated and more insidious than ever. And as award-winning historian Ibram X.


My Grandmother's Hands: Racialized Trauma and the Pathway to Mending Our Hearts and Bodies Cover Image
$16.16
ISBN: 9781942094470
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Central Recovery Press - September 19th, 2017

The body is where our instincts reside and where we fight, flee, or freeze, and it endures the trauma inflicted by the ills that plague society. In this groundbreaking work, therapist Resmaa Menakem examines the damage caused by racism in America from the perspective of body-centered psychology.


Critical Race Theory (Third Edition): An Introduction (Critical America) Cover Image
$20.90
ISBN: 9781479802760
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New York University Press - March 7th, 2017

Updated to include the Black Lives Matter movement, the presidency of Barack Obama, the rise of hate speech on the Internet, and more.


Post Traumatic Slave Syndrome: America's Legacy of Enduring Injury and Healing Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780985217273
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Joy Degruy Publications Inc - September 11th, 2017

White Like Me: Reflections on Race from a Privileged Son Cover Image
$13.46
ISBN: 9781593764258
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Soft Skull Press - September 13th, 2011

With a new preface and updated chapters, White Like Me is one-part memoir, one-part polemical essay collection. It is a personal examination of the way in which racial privilege shapes the daily lives of white Americans in every realm: employment, education, housing, criminal justice, and elsewhere.


Somebody's Children: The Politics of Transnational and Transracial Adoption Cover Image
$30.75
ISBN: 9780822351610
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Duke University Press - March 7th, 2012

In Somebody's Children, Laura Briggs examines the social and cultural forces--poverty, racism, economic inequality, and political violence--that have shaped transracial and transnational adoption in the United States during the second half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first.


Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780465006403
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Basic Books - March 27th, 2003

Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century.