Charis Books and More Logo

LGBTQI Family Books for Teens and Middle Grades

BOOKS FOR TEENS and MIDDLE GRADES FEATURING LGBTQI FAMILIES

The Kids: The Children of LGBTQ Parents in the USA Cover Image
$19.76
ISBN: 9781620973677
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New Press - October 10th, 2017

PAPERBACK ORIGINAL
A stunning new photobook featuring more than fifty portraits of children brought up by gay parents in America, sixth in a groundbreaking series that looks at LGBTQ communities around the world


My Two Moms: Lessons of Love, Strength, and What Makes a Family Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781592407637
Availability: Special Order
Published: Avery - April 2nd, 2013

A resounding testament to the power of family and a reassurance that there is no wrong way to be who you are


You're Welcome, Universe Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780399551444
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - March 6th, 2018

A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.

Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award!

 


From the Notebooks of Melanin Sun Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9780142416419
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - July 8th, 2010

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People's Literature

Three-time Newbery Honor author Jacqueline Woodson explores race and sexuality through the eyes of a compelling narrator


Let's Get This Straight: The Ultimate Handbook for Youth with LGBTQ Parents Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781580053334
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Seal Press - September 28th, 2010

Between Mom and Jo Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780316067102
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2008

Nick has a three-legged dog named Lucky, some pet fish, and two moms who think he's the greatest kid ever. And he happens to think he has the greatest Moms ever, but everything changes when his birth mom and her wife, Jo, start to have marital problems.


LGBTQ Families: The Ultimate Teen Guide (It Happened to Me #37) Cover Image
$63.80
ISBN: 9780810885363
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scarecrow Press - August 28th, 2013

According to the recent United States Census, there are 650,000 same-sex couple households in the U.S., and an estimated one-quarter of those households are raising children. In the past few years, several states across the nation have passed Freedom to Marry bills for same-sex couples. But even with the rise in recognition of LGBTQ families, acceptance has not necessarily followed.


How It Feels to Have a Gay or Lesbian Parent: A Book by Kids for Kids of All Ages (Haworth Gay and Lesbian Studies) Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781560234203
Availability: Special Order
Published: Routledge - July 1st, 2004

Sometimes I fantasize about having a magic wand. How awesome it would be to wave it and completely eliminate prejudice, hate, and ignorance. Just imagine what it would be like to live in a world like that.


The Only Black Girls in Town Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9780316456388
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

Award-winning YA author Brandy Colbert's debut middle-grade novel about the only two Black girls in town who discover a collection of hidden journals revealing shocking secrets of the past.


A Home for Goddesses and Dogs Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9780062796783
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 25th, 2020

A unique masterpiece about loss, love, and the world’s best bad dog, from award winner Leslie Connor, author of the National Book Award finalist The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle.


To Night Owl From Dogfish Cover Image
$8.09
ISBN: 9780525553243
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - April 28th, 2020

From two extraordinary authors comes a moving, exuberant, laugh-out-loud novel about friendship and family, told entirely in emails and letters.


The Other F-Word: A Novel Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250144157
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - June 5th, 2018

A fresh, humorous, and timely YA novel about two teens conceived via in vitro fertilization who go in search for answers about their donor