Charis Books and More Logo

Kira's Staff Picks

Kira (she/her) has been working in bookstores for the better part of the last fifteen years. A lover of fantasy, sci-fi, and romance, Kira is passionate about the transformative potential of imaginary worlds and the power of collaboration and collectivity in fact and fiction. She will likely remain perpetually All-But-Dissertated - her research in comparative studies focused on belonging and found family in speculative audio fiction (podcasts) and fan communities. Kira has a chapter in Roleplaying Games in the Digital Age: Essays on Transmedia Storytelling, Tabletop RPGs, and Fandom from McFarland. Her piece looks at collaborative storytelling, worldbuilding, and audience participation in the actual-play D&D fantasy comedy podcast The Adventure Zone. From 2016-2019, she was the Editorial Assistant for the Journal of Language and Sexuality. She loves playing RPGs and video games, crocheting, volunteering at PAWS Atlanta, reading and watching sci-fi and fantasy, and wrangling her four cats: Ichabod Crane, Magrathea, Hazelnut, and Mr. Tumnus.

Recommended Booklists:
Fantasy and Science Fiction for the Queer Romantic

Unconventional Historical Romance

Gift Guides:
For the Cat Lover in Your Life - Children
For the Cat Lover in Your Life - Teens & Adults

 

A Lady for a Duke Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781538753750
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forever - May 24th, 2022

A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Lisa Kleypas!
When Viola Carroll was presumed dead at Waterloo she took the opportunity to live, at last, as herself.


Queerly Beloved: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593243978
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback - May 3rd, 2022

A people-pleasing baker tries to find her place as a bridesmaid-for-hire. Will she finally find her happily ever after—and her own voice?


Staff Pick Badge
A Marvellous Light (The Last Binding #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250788870
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tordotcom - November 2nd, 2021

An immersive, intricate Edwardian fantasy world filled with magic, danger, and romance. Hard to put down, especially with the engaging conceit of the alternating viewpoint chapters of the two leads who are both stubborn, passionate, loyal, and brilliant in their own ways. -Kira @ Charis


Staff Pick Badge
The Queer Principles of Kit Webb: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780063026216
Published: Avon - June 8th, 2021

"The Queer Principles of Kit Webb kept me up all night! I simply couldn’t put it down."— Tessa Dare, New York Times bestselling author


The Perfect Crimes of Marian Hayes: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063026254
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Avon - June 7th, 2022

Cat Sebastian returns to Georgian London with a stunning tale of a reluctant criminal and the thief who cannot help but love her.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Taproot: A Story About A Gardener and A Ghost Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781637150733
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Oni Press - July 5th, 2022

"It's a pleasure to lose yourself in the beautiful artwork, and one of the loveliest queer romances I've ever read." — K. O'Neil, author of The Tea Dragon Society

Blue has been living as a ghost for a year when he meets Hamal, a beautiful and sweet gardener who has the ability to see and communicate with ghosts.


I Kissed Shara Wheeler: A Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250244451
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wednesday Books - May 3rd, 2022

*INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER*
*INSTANT #1 INDIE BESTSELLER*
*INSTANT USA TODAY BESTSELLER*

From the New York Times bestselling author of One Last Stop and Red, White & Royal Blue comes a romantic comedy about chasing down what you want, only to find what you need...


Nothing Burns as Bright as You Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780358655350
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Versify - April 5th, 2022

Five starred reviews!

From New York Times bestselling author Ashley Woodfolk, Nothing Burns as Bright as You is an impassioned stand-alone tale of queer love, grief, and the complexity of female friendship.


The Bone Shard Daughter (The Drowning Empire #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316541435
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - March 30th, 2021

The Bone Shard Daughter is an unmissable debut from a major new voice in epic fantasy — a stunning tale of magic, mystery, and revolution in which the former heir to the emperor will fight to reclaim her power and her place on the throne.

"One of the best debut fantasy novels of the year." — BuzzFeed News
"An amazing start to a new t


The Bone Shard Emperor (The Drowning Empire #2) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316541473
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - April 19th, 2022

In this action-packed magical fantasy epic, a heroine at the head of a powerful empire confronts a raging battle as she’s forced to do whatever it takes to restore peace.

The Emperor is Dead. Long live the Emperor.  
 
Lin Sukai finally sits on the throne she won at so much cost, but her struggles are only just beginning.


Real Hero Shit Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9781945820830
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Iron Circus Comics - February 1st, 2022

"It's quirky, it's fantasy, and it's horny . . . highly anticipated." -- COMICS BEAT

"A fresh, hilarious, and even raunchy spin on the classic questing formula." -- IGN

"Real Hero Shit delivers excitement, depth, and most of all, fun." -- FOREWORD MAGAZINE


Staff Pick Badge
Peter Darling Cover Image
$13.79
ISBN: 9781087808659
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Austin Chant - June 1st, 2021

Did you LOVE Our Flag Means Death? Then you will absolutely adore Peter Darling by Austin Chant. It has everything you could want: trans Peter, enemies-to-lovers, swordfighting, ~tension~, and a truly moving look at a grown-up Peter trying to navigate worlds both magical and real.


Pre-Order Now Badge
A Taste of Gold and Iron Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250800381
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tordotcom - August 30th, 2022

“A delicious tangle of romance, fealty, and dangerous politics.”—Tasha Suri

The Goblin Emperor meets "Magnificent Century" in Alexandra Rowland's A Taste of Gold and Iron, where a queer central romance unfolds in a fantasy world reminiscent of the Ottoman Empire.