Charis Books and More Logo

Kira's Staff Picks

Kira (she/her) has been working in bookstores for the better part of the last fifteen years. A lover of fantasy, sci-fi, and romance, Kira is passionate about the transformative potential of imaginary worlds and the power of collaboration and collectivity in fact and fiction. She will likely remain perpetually All-But-Dissertated - her research in comparative studies focused on belonging and found family in speculative audio fiction (podcasts) and fan communities. Kira has a chapter in Roleplaying Games in the Digital Age: Essays on Transmedia Storytelling, Tabletop RPGs, and Fandom from McFarland. Her piece looks at collaborative storytelling, worldbuilding, and audience participation in the actual-play D&D fantasy comedy podcast The Adventure Zone. From 2016-2019, she was the Editorial Assistant for the Journal of Language and Sexuality. She loves playing RPGs and video games, crocheting, volunteering at PAWS Atlanta, reading and watching sci-fi and fantasy, and wrangling her four cats: Ichabod Crane, Magrathea, Hazelnut, and Mr. Tumnus.

Recommended Booklists:

COZY QUEER READS: A Holiday Gift-Giving Guide
Fantasy and Science Fiction for the Queer Romantic | Unconventional Historical Romance For the Cat Lover in Your Life - Children | For the Cat Lover in Your Life - Teens & Adults

Staff Pick Badge
A Taste of Gold and Iron By Alexandra Rowland Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250800381
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tordotcom - August 30th, 2022

Now an Indie Next pick! A Most Anticipated Pick for BookRiot | FanFi Addict | The Nerd Daily | io9 | We Are Bookish | Buzzfeed

“A delicious tangle of romance, fealty, and dangerous politics.”—Tasha Suri


Winter's Orbit By Everina Maxwell Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250758842
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - December 28th, 2021

A Sunday Times Bestseller!
A 2022 Alex Award Winner!

“Sparks fly” (NPR) in Everina Maxwell’s gut-wrenching and romantic space opera debut.


Staff Pick Badge
Ocean's Echo By Everina Maxwell Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250758866
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - November 1st, 2022

For fans of The Expanse and the anti-imperialist messaging of Andor, and those who like their sci-fi queer.

A ne'er-do-well socialite with the power to read minds and a by-the-book soldier with the ability to re-write them must fake a "soul-bonded" mental connection in order to contend with military corruption and the dangers of chaotic space.


A Merry Little Meet Cute: A Novel By Julie Murphy, Sierra Simone Cover Image
$21.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780063222571
Published: Avon - September 20th, 2022

Cowritten by #1 New York Times bestselling author Julie Murphy and USA Today bestselling author Sierra Simone—a steamy plus-size holiday rom-com about an adult film star who is semi-accidentally cast as a lead in a family-friendly Christmas movie, and the former bad-boy pop star she falls in love with.


The Companion By Ee Ottoman Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9798721528699
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Independently Published - April 9th, 2021

Paris Daillencourt Is About to Crumble (Winner Bakes All #2) By Alexis Hall Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781538703335
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forever - November 1st, 2022

From the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material comes a sweet and scrumptious romantic comedy about facing your insecurities, finding love, and baking it off, no matter what people say. 

Paris Daillencourt is a recipe for disaster.


Staff Pick Badge
A Marvellous Light (The Last Binding #1) By Freya Marske Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250831798
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tordotcom - October 18th, 2022

An immersive, intricate Edwardian fantasy world filled with magic, danger, and romance. Hard to put down, especially with the engaging conceit of the alternating viewpoint chapters of the two leads who are both stubborn, passionate, loyal, and brilliant in their own ways. -Kira @ Charis


A Lady for a Duke By Alexis Hall Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781538753750
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forever - May 24th, 2022

A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the USA Today bestselling author of Husband Material—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Lisa Kleypas!
When Viola Carroll was presumed dead at Waterloo she took the opportunity to live, at last, as herself.


Chilling Effect By Valerie Valdes Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062877239
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Voyager - September 17th, 2019

“Jam-packed with weird aliens, mysterious artifacts, and lovable characters... a tremendous good time and an impressive debut.” -- Kirkus Reviews (starred)


Smut Peddler Presents: Sordid Past By Andrea Purcell (Editor), Anderjak (Contribution by), Lucy Bellwood (Contribution by) Cover Image
By Andrea Purcell (Editor), Anderjak (Contribution by), Lucy Bellwood (Contribution by)
$30.00
ISBN: 9781945820816
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Iron Circus Comics - December 28th, 2021

"Another slam-dunk for a series that breaks new ground in erotic art." -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

"Sex-positive, consent-driven erotica with an anchor in . . . the delightful smut of human history." -- POLYGON


Staff Pick Badge
The Queer Principles of Kit Webb: A Novel (London Highwaymen #1) By Cat Sebastian Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063026216
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Avon - June 8th, 2021

"The Queer Principles of Kit Webb kept me up all night! I simply couldn’t put it down."— Tessa Dare, New York Times bestselling author


The Perfect Crimes of Marian Hayes: A Novel (London Highwaymen #2) By Cat Sebastian Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063026254
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Avon - June 7th, 2022

Cat Sebastian returns to Georgian London with a stunning tale of a reluctant criminal and the thief who cannot help but love her.


Slippery Creatures By Kj Charles Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781912688166
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kjc Books - April 28th, 2020

Will Darling came back from the Great War with a few scars, a lot of medals, and no idea what to do next. Inheriting his uncle's chaotic second-hand bookshop is a blessing...until strange visitors start making threats. First a criminal gang, then the War Office, both telling Will to give them the information they want, or else.



Real Hero Shit By Kendra Wells Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9781945820830
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Iron Circus Comics - February 1st, 2022

"It's quirky, it's fantasy, and it's horny . . . highly anticipated." -- COMICS BEAT

"A fresh, hilarious, and even raunchy spin on the classic questing formula." -- IGN

"Real Hero Shit delivers excitement, depth, and most of all, fun." -- FOREWORD MAGAZINE


Staff Pick Badge
Peter Darling By Austin Chant Cover Image
$13.79
ISBN: 9781087808659
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Austin Chant - June 1st, 2021

Did you LOVE Our Flag Means Death? Then you will absolutely adore Peter Darling by Austin Chant. It has everything you could want: trans Peter, enemies-to-lovers, swordfighting, ~tension~, and a truly moving look at a grown-up Peter trying to navigate worlds both magical and real.