Charis Books and More Logo

Kira's Staff Picks

Kira (she/her) has been working in bookstores for the better part of the last fifteen years. A lover of fantasy, sci-fi, and romance, Kira is passionate about the transformative potential of imaginary worlds and the power of collaboration and collectivity in fact and fiction. She is currently a Ph.D. Candidate in Comparative Studies at Florida Atlantic University, and her dissertation focuses on belonging and found family in speculative audio fiction and fan communities. She loves playing RPGs and video games, crocheting, singing, murder mystery television, and wrangling her four cats.

Kira has a chapter in the forthcoming book Roleplaying Games in the Digital Age: Essays on Transmedia Storytelling, Tabletop RPGs, and Fandom from McFarland. Her piece looks at collaborative storytelling, worldbuilding, and audience participation in the actual-play D&D fantasy comedy podcast The Adventure Zone. Additionally, from 2016-2019, she was the Editorial Assistant for the Journal of Language and Sexuality. 

Holiday Gift Guide: 

Not-Your-Typical Romance

Young Adult Fantasy

Raybearer Cover Image
$17.09
ISBN: 9781419739828
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amulet Books - August 18th, 2020

The instant New York Times bestselling YA fantasy from incredible new talent Jordan Ifueko—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir!


Solutions and Other Problems Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982156947
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - September 22nd, 2020

INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

For the first time in seven years, Allie Brosh—beloved author and artist of the extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller Hyperbole and a Half—returns with a new collection of comedic, autobiographical, and illustrated essays.


The Shortest Day Cover Image
By Susan Cooper, Carson Ellis (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780763686987
Availability: Backordered
Published: Candlewick - October 22nd, 2019

In this seasonal treasure, Newbery Medalist Susan Cooper’s beloved poem heralds the winter solstice, illuminated by Caldecott Honoree Carson Ellis’s strikingly resonant illustrations.

So the shortest day came,
and the year died . . .


The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth #1) Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9780316229296
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - August 4th, 2015

At the end of the world, a woman must hide her secret power and find her kidnapped daughter in this "intricate and extraordinary" Hugo Award winning novel of power, oppression, and revolution. (The New York Times)

This is the way the world ends. . .for the last time.


The Fire Never Goes Out: A Memoir in Pictures Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062278272
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - March 3rd, 2020

From Noelle Stevenson, the New York Times bestselling author-illustrator of Nimona, comes a captivating, honest illustrated memoir that finds her turning an important corner in her creative journey—and inviting readers along for the ride.


Living a Feminist Life Cover Image
$32.95
ISBN: 9780822363194
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Duke University Press - February 3rd, 2017

In Living a Feminist Life Sara Ahmed shows how feminist theory is generated from everyday life and the ordinary experiences of being a feminist at home and at work.


Practical Magic: 25th Anniversary Edition Cover Image
By Alice Hoffman, Alice Hoffman (Introduction by)
$15.30
ISBN: 9780425190371
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - August 5th, 2003

*25th Anniversary Edition*—with a New Introduction by the Author!

The Owens sisters confront the challenges of life and love in this bewitching novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Rules of Magic and Magic Lessons.


The Prince and the Dressmaker Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9781626723634
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - February 13th, 2018

Paris, at the dawn of the modern age:

Prince Sebastian is looking for a bride—or rather, his parents are looking for one for him. Sebastian is too busy hiding his secret life from everyone. At night he puts on daring dresses and takes Paris by storm as the fabulous Lady Crystallia—the hottest fashion icon in the world capital of fashion!


A Prince on Paper: Reluctant Royals Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9780062685582
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Avon - April 30th, 2019

Named one of Amazon's Best Romances of May!

The Reluctant Royals series returns with a good girl searching for the life that’s not too big, and not too small, and the bad boy prince who might be just right for her…


Red, White & Royal Blue: A Novel Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9781250316776
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 14th, 2019

* Instant NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY bestseller *
* GOODREADS CHOICE AWARD WINNER for BEST DEBUT and BEST ROMANCE of 2019 *

* BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR* for VOGUE, NPR, VANITY FAIR, and more! *

What happens when America's First Son falls in love with the Prince of Wales?


The Ten Thousand Doors of January Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9780316421973
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Redhook - May 12th, 2020

"A gorgeous, aching love letter to stories, storytellers and the doors they lead us through...absolutely enchanting."--Christina Henry, bestselling author of Alice and Lost Boys

LOS ANGELES TIMES BESTSELLER!
Finalist for the 2020 Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and World Fantasy Awards


This Is How You Lose the Time War Cover Image
$13.49
ISBN: 9781534430990
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - March 17th, 2020

HUGO AWARD WINNER: BEST NOVELLA

NEBULA AND LOCUS AWARDS WINNER: BEST NOVELLA

“[An] exquisitely crafted tale...Part epistolary romance, part mind-blowing science fiction adventure, this dazzling story unfolds bit by bit, revealing layers of meaning as it plays with cause and effect, wildly imaginative technologies, and increasingly intricate wordplay...This sh


The Witch Boy Cover Image
$11.69
ISBN: 9781338089516
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graphix - October 31st, 2017

In thirteen-year-old Aster's family, all the girls are raised to be witches, while boys grow up to be shapeshifters. Anyone who dares cross those lines is exiled. Unfortunately for Aster, he still hasn't shifted . . . and he's still fascinated by witchery, no matter how forbidden it might be.