Charis Books and More Logo

Income inequality and books on class for kids

Income inequality and books on class for kids

Maddi's Fridge Cover Image
By Lois Brandt, Vin Vogel (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781936261291
Availability: Backordered
Published: Flashlight Press - September 1st, 2014

Winner of:
2014 Christopher Award, Books for Young People
2014 ILA Primary Fiction Award
2015 MLA Mitten Award Honor
Human Rights in Children's Literature Honor


With humor and warmth, this children’s picture book raises awareness about poverty and hunger

Best friends Sofia and Maddi live in the same neighborhood, go to the sam


I Like, I Don't Like Cover Image
By Anna Baccelliere, Ale +. Ale (Illustrator)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802854803
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Eerdmans Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2017

National Council for the Social Studies-Children's Book Council: 2018 Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People

An eye-opening introduction to an important issue


On Our Street: Our First Talk about Poverty (World Around Us #1) Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781459816176
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orca Book Publishers - February 13th, 2018

The World Around Us series introduces children to complex cultural, social and environmental issues that they may encounter outside their homes, in a way that is accessible. Sidebars offer further reading for older children or care providers who have bigger questions.


A Bike Like Sergio's Cover Image
By Maribeth Boelts, Noah Z. Jones (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781536202953
Availability: Backordered
Published: Candlewick - September 4th, 2018

Finders keepers, right? When Ruben picks up someone’s lost money, he finds out how hard it can be to do the right thing.


Everything Naomi Loved Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781324004912
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Norton Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

11th Street. It wasn’t pretty but it was alive!


Tough Like Mum Cover Image
By Lana Button, Carmen Mok (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780735265981
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tundra Books - April 13th, 2021

What does it mean to be tough? Kim finds out in this moving mother-daughter story about family hardship, vulnerability and love, perfect for fans of Dolly Parton's Coat of Many Colors.

Kim's mum is tough. Everyone says so. She can deal with unruly customers at the Red Rooster with a snap of her fingers.


Still a Family: A Story about Homelessness Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780807577073
Availability: Backordered
Published: Albert Whitman & Company - January 31st, 2017

A little girl and her parents have lost their home and must live in a homeless shelter. Even worse, due to a common shelter policy, her dad must live in a men's shelter, separated from her and her mom. Despite these circumstances, the family still finds time to be together. They meet at the park to play hide-and-seek, slide on slides, and pet puppies.


Ten Cents a Pound Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781772600568
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Second Story Press - April 10th, 2018

A young girl is torn by her desire to stay home with her family and the familiarity of their village, and her desire to go to school and discover the world beyond the mountains that surround them. Every time the girl insists that she will stay, her mother repeats that she must go--that there is more to life than labor in the coffee fields.


Lulu and the Hunger Monster ™ Cover Image
By Erik Talkin, Sheryl Murray (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781631985461
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Free Spirit Publishing - August 24th, 2020

“In this story illustrating the reality of childhood hunger and food insecurity, Lulu invites kids into her world to help them understand what it's like to battle the Hunger Monster.


The Blue House Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984893369
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - August 11th, 2020

In the tradition of Virginia Lee Burton's The Little House comes a heartfelt story about a father and son learning to accept the new while honoring and celebrating the old.


I See You Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781433827587
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Magination Press - October 9th, 2017

Gold medal winner, 2018 IPPY Awards

Gold Medal Winner, 2017 Foreword INDIES Awards

Gold Medal winner, Mom's Choice Awards


Saturday Cover Image
By Oge Mora (By (artist))
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316431279
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 22nd, 2019

In this warm and tender story by the Caldecott Honor-winning creator of Thank You, Omu!, join a mother and daughter on an up-and-down journey that reminds them of what's best about Saturdays: precious time together.

Today would be special. Today would be splendid. It was Saturday! But sometimes, the best plans don't work out exactly the way you expect....


The Paper Kingdom Cover Image
By Helena Ku Rhee, Pascal Campion (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525644613
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - February 18th, 2020

An office at night is reimagined as a fantastical kingdom of paper complete with friendly dragons in this own voices picture book.


Those Shoes Cover Image
By Maribeth Boelts, Noah Z. Jones (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780763642846
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - June 9th, 2009

"In this witty, wise picture book, Boelts presents a kid’s-eye view of a consumer fad that rages through school at gale force." — Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)


Coat of Many Colors Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780451532374
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grosset & Dunlap - October 18th, 2016

Dolly Parton lends the lyrics of her classic song "Coat of Many Colors" to this heartfelt picture book for young readers.


A Different Pond (Fiction Picture Books) Cover Image
By Bao Phi, Thi Bui (Illustrator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781623708030
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Capstone Young Readers - August 1st, 2017

A 2018 Caldecott Honor Book that Kirkus Reviews calls "a must-read for our times," A Different Pond is an unforgettable story about a simple event - a long-ago fishing trip. Graphic novelist Thi Bui and acclaimed poet Bao Phi deliver a powerful, honest glimpse into a relationship between father and son - and between cultures, old and new.


The One Day House Cover Image
By Julia Durango, Bianca Diaz (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781580897099
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Charlesbridge - August 15th, 2017

Wilson dreams of all the ways he can help improve his friend Gigi’s house so that she’ll be warm, comfortable, and happy.

One day, friends and neighbors from all over come to help make Wilson's plans come true. Everyone volunteers to pitch in to make Gigi's house safe, clean, and pretty.


A Shelter in Our Car Cover Image
By Monica Gunning, Elaine Pedlar (Illustrator)
$10.95
ISBN: 9780892393084
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Children's Book Press (CA) - May 1st, 2014

Skipping Stones Honor Award

Zettie and her Mama left their warm and comfortable home in Jamaica for an uncertain life in the United Sates, and they are forced to live in Mama's car.


The One with the Scraggly Beard Cover Image
By Elizabeth Withey, Lynn Scurfield (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781459818552
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orca Book Publishers - October 13th, 2020

A child tries to understand the life of a man he has seen sleeping under a bridge. The boy's mother patiently answers his questions and explains how people's life paths can be so different. The child observes the things he has in common with the man and wonders where his own path will lead.


Poverty and Hunger (Children in Our World) Cover Image
By Louise A. Spilsbury, Hanane Kai (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781438050195
Availability: Special Order
Published: B.E.S. - August 1st, 2017

With our 24/7 news cycle and constant access to the latest headlines, the world can be a scary place. Now imagine you're a child trying to make sense of it all What does this news mean? How does it affect me? That's where Children in Our World can help.


Adrian Simcox Does NOT Have a Horse Cover Image
By Marcy Campbell, Corinna Luyken (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735230378
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - August 14th, 2018

A classic in the making, this heartwarming story about empathy and imagination is one that families will treasure for years to come.

Adrian Simcox tells anyone who will listen that he has a horse--the best and most beautiful horse anywhere.


Tia Isa Wants a Car Cover Image
By Meg Medina, Claudio Munoz (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780763657529
Availability: Backordered
Published: Candlewick - February 23rd, 2016

“A pleasant selection about ambition, resourcefulness, and never letting go of one’s dreams.” — School Library Journal


The House That Jane Built: A Story About Jane Addams Cover Image
By Tanya Lee Stone, Kathryn Brown (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780805090499
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - June 23rd, 2015

This is the story of Jane Addams, the first American woman to receive the Nobel Peace Prize, who transformed a poor neighborhood in Chicago by opening up her house as a community center.


What Is Given from the Heart Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780375836152
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Schwartz & Wade - January 8th, 2019

CORETTA SCOTT KING – JOHN STEPTOE ILLUSTRATOR AWARD FOR NEW TALENT WINNER

This final, magnificent picture book from three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner and Newbery Honor author Patricia McKissack is a poignant and uplifting celebration of the joy of giving.