Charis Books and More Logo

Gift Guide--Mystery/Thriller

New mysteries and thrillers!

Blackwater Falls: A Thriller (Blackwater Falls Series #1) By Ausma Zehanat Khan Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250822383
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - November 8th, 2022

From critically acclaimed author Ausma Zehanat Khan, Blackwater Falls is the first in a timely and powerful crime series, introducing Detective Inaya Rahman.


Back to the Garden: A Novel By Laurie R. King Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593496565
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bantam - September 6th, 2022

A fifty-year-old cold case involving California royalty comes back to life—with potentially fatal consequences—in this gripping standalone novel from the New York Times bestselling author of the Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series.


Rules of Engagement By Stacey Abrams, Selena Montgomery Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593439395
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - September 6th, 2022

Love is a game of chance in this romantic suspense novel by New York Times bestselling author and American politician and activist Stacey Abrams, writing under her pen name, Selena Montgomery.


Lavender House: A Novel By Lev AC Rosen Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250834225
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forge Books - October 18th, 2022

An Amazon Best Book of the Year!
A "Best Mystery & Suspense of 2022" pick from BookPage!

A delicious story from a new voice in suspense, Lev AC Rosen's Lavender House is Knives Out with a queer historical twist.


NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"Each author captures Christie—and Marple—perfectly, while also displaying just a bit of her own unique touch. . . . This new and entertaining collection by some of our favorite writers will hook a new group of readers to the formidable Miss Marple." — Rhys Bowen, Washington Post


Girl, Forgotten: A Novel By Karin Slaughter Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062858115
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - August 23rd, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

“It’s Slaughter’s prodigious gifts of characterization that make her stand out among thriller writers.”   — Washington Post


The It Girl By Ruth Ware Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781982155261
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - July 12th, 2022

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of the “claustrophobic spine-tingler” (People) One by One returns with an unputdownable mystery following a woman on the search for answers a decade after her friend’s murder.


Portrait of a Thief: A Novel By Grace D. Li Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593184738
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tiny Reparations Books - April 5th, 2022

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
Longlisted for the Center for Fiction's First Novel Prize

Name a New York Times Best Crime Novel of 2022


River Woman, River Demon By Jennifer Givhan Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781665057509
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Blackstone Publishing - October 4th, 2022

Award-winning Mexican-American and Indigenous author Jennifer Givhan brings us an exquisitely written, spell-binding psychological thriller--weaving together folk magick with personal and cultural empowerment--that is perfect for fans of Mexican Gothic.


Small Game: A Novel By Blair Braverman Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063066175
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco - November 1st, 2022

A gripping debut novel about a survival reality show gone wrong that leaves a group of strangers stranded in the northern wilds


Magic, Lies, and Deadly Pies (A Pies Before Guys Mystery) By Misha Popp Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781643859958
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crooked Lane Books - May 10th, 2022

Daisy Ellery’s pies have a secret ingredient: The magical ability to avenge women done wrong by men. But Daisy finds herself on the receiving end in Misha Popp’s cozy series debut, a sweet-as-buttercream treat for fans of Ellery Adams and Mary Maxwell.


Killers of a Certain Age By Deanna Raybourn Cover Image
$27.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780593200681
Published: Berkley - September 6th, 2022

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

“This Golden Girls meets James Bond thriller is a journey you want to be part of.” -Buzzfeed

Older women often feel invisible, but sometimes that’s their secret weapon.


The World Cannot Give By Tara Isabella Burton Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781982170066
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 8th, 2022

The Secret History meets The Price of Salt” (Vogue) in this “equal parts dangerous and delicious” (Entertainment Weekly) novel about queer desire, religious zealotry, and the hunger for transcendence among the members of a cultic chapel choir at a Maine boarding school—and the ambitious, terrifyingly charismatic girl that rules over the


Murder in Westminster: A Riveting Regency Historical Mystery By Vanessa Riley Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781496738660
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kensington - August 30th, 2022

Perfect for readers looking for a darker twist on Bridgerton, this first in a vibrant, inclusive historical mystery series from a acclaimed author Vanessa Riley portrays the true diversity of the Regency-era, as an aristocrat whose skin color and notorious family history have left her with few friends she can rely on is named as the prime suspect in a murder case…


Anywhere You Run: A Novel By Wanda M. Morris Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063082502
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 25th, 2022

"Wise, riveting, and full of surprises, Anywhere You Run will keep you up past your bedtime and stay with you long after the book is closed.” —Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of Secluded Cabin Sleeps Six


All Her Little Secrets: A Novel By Wanda M. Morris Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063082465
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - November 2nd, 2021

All Her Little Secrets is a brilliantly nuanced but powerhouse exploration of race, the legal system, and the crushing pressure of keeping secrets. Morris brings a vibrant and welcome new voice to the thriller space.” —Karin Slaughter, New York Times and international bestselling author  


While Justice Sleeps By Stacey Abrams Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593469514
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - July 26th, 2022

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • A gripping, complexly plotted thriller set within the halls of the U.S. Supreme Court, where a young law clerk finds herself embroiled in a shocking mystery crafted by one of the most preeminent judges in America—from celebrated national leader and bestselling author Stacey Abrams.


The Verifiers By Jane Pek Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593313794
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - February 22nd, 2022

ONE OF THE WASHINGTON POST'S BEST MYSTERY BOOKS OF THE YEAR Introducing Claudia Lin: a sharp-witted amateur sleuth for the 21st century. This debut novel follows Claudia as she verifies people's online lives, and lies, for a dating detective agency in New York City. Until a client with an unusual request goes missing....


Murder on the Red River (A Cash Blackbear Mystery #1) By Marcie R. Rendon Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781641293761
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Soho Crime - April 5th, 2022

One Book, One Minnesota Selection for Summer 2021
 
Introducing Cash Blackbear, a young Ojibwe woman whose visions and grit help solve a brutal murder in this award-winning debut.


Lady Joker, Volume 1 By Kaoru Takamura, Allison Markin Powell (Translated by), Marie Iida (Translated by) Cover Image
By Kaoru Takamura, Allison Markin Powell (Translated by), Marie Iida (Translated by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781641293945
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Soho Crime - July 12th, 2022

One of Japan’s great modern masters, Kaoru Takamura, makes her English-language debut with this two-volume publication of her magnum opus.


Blackmail and Bibingka (A Tita Rosie's Kitchen Mystery #3) By Mia P. Manansala Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593201718
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - October 4th, 2022

When her long-lost cousin comes back to town just in time for the holidays, Lila Macapagal knows that big trouble can’t be far behind in this new mystery by Mia P. Manansala, author of Arsenic and Adobo.
 


State of Terror: A Novel By Louise Penny, Hillary Rodham Clinton Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781982173685
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster/St. Martin’s Press - June 28th, 2022

AN INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER​

Named one of the most anticipated novels of the season by People, Associated Press, Time, Los Angeles Times, Parade, St.


Dead Dead Girls (A Harlem Renaissance Mystery #1) By Nekesa Afia Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593199107
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - June 1st, 2021

“In this terrific series opener, Afia evokes the women’s lives in all their wayward and beautiful glory, especially the abruptness with which their dreams, hopes and fears cease to exist.”--The New York Times

The start of an exciting new historical mystery series set during the Harlem Renaissance from debut author Nekesa Afia


Dial A for Aunties By Jesse Q. Sutanto Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593333037
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - April 27th, 2021

"Sutanto brilliantly infuses comedy and culture into the unpredictable rom-com/murder mystery mashup as Meddy navigates familial duty, possible arrest and a groomzilla. I laughed out loud and you will too.”—USA Today (four-star review)


The Searcher: A Novel By Tana French Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780735224674
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - November 2nd, 2021

A New York Times Bestseller
A New York Times and NPR Best Book of 2020

"This hushed suspense tale about thwarted dreams of escape may be her best one yet...its own kind of masterpiece." --Maureen Corrigan, The Washington Post


Blacktop Wasteland: A Novel By S. A. Cosby Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250252692
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - June 1st, 2021

A New York Times Notable Books of 2020

Like Ocean’s Eleven meets Drive, with a Southern noir twist, S. A. Cosby’s Blacktop Wasteland is a searing, operatic story of a man pushed to his limits by poverty, race, and his own former life of crime.