Charis Books and More Logo

Gift Guide--Feminism

New books--feminist thought

For Brown Girls with Sharp Edges and Tender Hearts: A Love Letter to Women of Color By Prisca Dorcas Mojica Rodríguez Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781541674882
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Seal Press - October 11th, 2022

This “electrifying debut” (Los Angeles Times) arms women of color with the tools and knowledge they need to find success on their own terms  

For generations, Brown girls have had to push against powerful forces of sexism, racism, and classism, often feeling alone in the struggle. By founding Latina Rebels, Prisca Dorcas Mojica Rodríg


Abolition. Feminism. Now. By Angela Y. Davis, Gina Dent, Erica R. Meiners Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781642592580
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Haymarket Books - January 18th, 2022

As a politic and a practice, abolition increasingly shapes our political moment -- halting the construction of new jails and propelling movements to divest from policing.


The Trauma of Caste: A Dalit Feminist Meditation on Survivorship, Healing, and Abolition By Thenmozhi Soundararajan, Tarana Burke (Foreword by), Aishah Shahidah Simmons (Epilogue by), Cornel West (Afterword by) Cover Image
By Thenmozhi Soundararajan, Tarana Burke (Foreword by), Aishah Shahidah Simmons (Epilogue by), Cornel West (Afterword by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781623177652
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: North Atlantic Books - November 15th, 2022

Instant Amazon Best Seller and Hot New Release

For readers of Caste and Radical Dharma, an urgent call to action to end caste apartheid, grounded in Dalit feminist abolition and engaged Buddhism.


Ride or Die: A Feminist Manifesto for the Well-Being of Black Women By Shanita Hubbard Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780306874673
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Legacy Lit - November 8th, 2022

A “ride-or-die chick” is a woman who holds down her family and community. She’s your girl that you can call up in the middle of the night to bail you out of jail, and you know she’ll show up and won’t ask any questions. Her ride-or-die trope becomes a problem when she does it indiscriminately.


Bad Fat Black Girl: Notes from a Trap Feminist By Sesali Bowen Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063111745
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amistad - September 13th, 2022

“Sesali Bowen is poised to give Black feminism the rejuvenation it needs. Her trendsetting writing and commentary reaches across experiences and beyond respectability. I and so many Black girls still figuring out who they are in this world will gain so much from whatever she has to say.”—Charlene A.


Black Trans Feminism By Marquis Bey Cover Image
$32.14
ISBN: 9781478017813
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Duke University Press - February 25th, 2022

In Black Trans Feminism Marquis Bey offers a meditation on blackness and gender nonnormativity in ways that recalibrate traditional understandings of each.


The Right to Sex: Feminism in the Twenty-First Century By Amia Srinivasan Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250858795
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - September 20th, 2022

“Laser-cut writing and a stunning intellect. If only every writer made this much beautiful sense.” —Lisa Taddeo, author of Three Women


Essential Labor: Mothering as Social Change By Angela Garbes Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062937360
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Wave - May 10th, 2022

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

From the acclaimed author of Like a Mother comes a reflection on the state of caregiving in America, and an exploration of mothering as a means of social change.


The Story of Jane: The Legendary Underground Feminist Abortion Service By Laura Kaplan Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593471081
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - October 25th, 2022

The powerful story of the women who founded and ran the legendary Chicago reproductive rights organization Abortion Counseling Service, otherwise known as Jane, written by one of its members. A compelling testament to a woman's most essential freedom—control over her own body—and to the power of women helping women.


Against White Feminism: Notes on Disruption By Rafia Zakaria Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781324035992
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 20th, 2022

A radically inclusive, intersectional, and transnational approach to the fight for women’s rights.


Misogynoir Transformed: Black Women's Digital Resistance (Intersections #18) By Moya Bailey Cover Image
$19.49
ISBN: 9781479878741
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New York University Press - September 1st, 2022

Where racism and sexism meet-an understanding of anti-Black misogyny


Liberated to the Bone: Histories. Bodies. Futures. By Susan Raffo Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781849354653
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: AK Press - November 15th, 2022

A way to deepen our understanding of the relationship between social justice and the work of healing--healing as individuals, communities, and societies.


In Defense of Witches: The Legacy of the Witch Hunts and Why Women Are Still on Trial By Mona Chollet, Sophie R. Lewis (Translated by), Carmen Maria Machado (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Mona Chollet, Sophie R. Lewis (Translated by), Carmen Maria Machado (Introduction by)
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250271419
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - March 8th, 2022

Mona Chollet's In Defense of Witches is a “brilliant, well-documented” celebration (Le Monde) by an acclaimed French feminist of the witch as a symbol of female rebellion and independence in the face of misogyny and persecution.


The Disordered Cosmos: A Journey into Dark Matter, Spacetime, and Dreams Deferred By Chanda Prescod-Weinstein Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781541724686
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bold Type Books - May 10th, 2022

From a star theoretical physicist, a journey into the world of particle physics and the cosmos—and a call for a more liberatory practice of science.

Winner of the 2021 Los Angeles Times Book Prize in Science & Technology
Winner of the 2022 Phi Beta Kappa Book Award in Science
Winner of the 2022 PEN Oakland Josephine Miles Award
A Finali


This Bridge Called My Back, Fortieth Anniversary Edition: Writings by Radical Women of Color By Cherríe Moraga (Editor), Gloria Anzaldúa (Editor) Cover Image
By Cherríe Moraga (Editor), Gloria Anzaldúa (Editor)
$40.19
ISBN: 9781438488288
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: State University of New York Press - November 1st, 2021

Originally released in 1981, This Bridge Called My Back is a testimony to women of color feminism as it emerged in the last quarter of the twentieth century.


The Trouble with White Women: A Counterhistory of Feminism By Kyla Schuller, Brittney Cooper (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Kyla Schuller, Brittney Cooper (Foreword by)
$30.00
ISBN: 9781645036890
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bold Type Books - October 5th, 2021

An incisive history of self-serving white feminists and the inspiring women who’ve continually defied them

Women including Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Margaret Sanger, and Sheryl Sandberg are commonly celebrated as leaders of feminism. Yet they have fought for the few, not the many.


A Dirty South Manifesto: Sexual Resistance and Imagination in the New South (American Studies Now: Critical Histories of the Present #10) By L.H. Stallings Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780520299504
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of California Press - December 10th, 2019

From the shutdown of Planned Parenthood clinics and rising rates of HIV to opposition to marriage equality and bathroom bills, the New South is the epicenter of the new sex wars.


Holding Change: The Way of Emergent Strategy Facilitation and Mediation By Adrienne Maree Brown Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781849354189
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: AK Press - May 25th, 2021

In our complex world, facilitation and mediation skills are as important for individuals as they are for organizations. How do we practice them in ways that align with nature, with pleasure, with our best imagining of our future? How do we attend to generating the ease necessary to help us move through the inevitable struggles of life?


Digital Black Feminism (Critical Cultural Communication) By Catherine Knight Steele Cover Image
$31.05
ISBN: 9781479808380
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New York University Press - October 26th, 2021

Winner, 2022 Nancy Baym Book Award, given by the Association of Internet Researchers

Traces the longstanding relationship between technology and Black feminist thought


What's Up with White Women?: Unpacking Sexism and White Privilege in Pursuit of Racial Justice By Ilsa Govan, Tilman Smith Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780865719613
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New Society Publishers - October 19th, 2021

As a white woman, ask yourself: are you upholding or fighting racism?

What's Up with White Women? is a practical guide for white women who are interested in becoming more effective in their cross-cultural, anti-racist practices.


Gender(s) (The MIT Press Essential Knowledge series) By Kathryn Bond Stockton Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780262542609
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: The MIT Press - August 31st, 2021

Why gender is strange, even when it's played straight, and how race and money are two of its most dramatic ingredients.


The Soul of a Woman By Isabel Allende Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780593355626
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - March 2nd, 2021

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Long Petal of the Sea comes “a bold exploration of womanhood, feminism, parenting, aging, love and more” (Associated Press).

The Soul of a Woman is Isabel Allende’s most liberating book yet.”—Elle


Hood Feminism: Notes from the Women That a Movement Forgot By Mikki Kendall Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525560562
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - February 23rd, 2021

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER


We Were There: The Third World Women's Alliance and the Second Wave By Patricia Romney Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781952177828
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Feminist Press - October 12th, 2021

"Fifty years ago, the Third World Women's Alliance passionately insisted on interconnections among racism, sexism, and capitalism, inspiring radical analytical frameworks and organizing strategies associated with contemporary conceptions of feminism.


Undrowned: Black Feminist Lessons from Marine Mammals By Alexis Pauline Gumbs, Adrienne Maree Brown (Foreword by) Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781849353977
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: AK Press - November 17th, 2020

Undrowned is a book-length meditation for social movements and our whole species based on the subversive and transformative guidance of marine mammals. Our aquatic cousins are queer, fierce, protective of each other, complex, shaped by conflict, and struggling to survive the extractive and militarized conditions our species has imposed on the ocean.


The Selected Works of Audre Lorde By Audre Lorde, Roxane Gay (Editor), Roxane Gay (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Audre Lorde, Roxane Gay (Editor), Roxane Gay (Introduction by)
$16.95
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781324004615
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 8th, 2020

A definitive selection of Audre Lorde’s "intelligent, fierce, powerful, sensual, provocative, indelible" (Roxane Gay) prose and poetry, for a new generation of readers.