Charis Books and More Logo

Reclaim the Stars: 17 Tales Across Realms & Space

Event date: 
Wednesday, February 16, 2022 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm

This event takes place on crowdcast, Charis' virtual event platform. Register here.

Charis welcomes author and editor Zoraida Córdova in conversation with contributors Mark Oshiro, Linda Raquel Nieves Pérez, Claribel Ortega, Lilliam Rivera, and Vita Ayala for a celebration of Reclaim the Stars: 17 Tales Across Realms & Space. From stories that take you to the stars, to stories that span into other times and realms, to stories set in the magical now, RECLAIM THE STARS takes the Latin American diaspora to places fantastical and out of this world.  

Follow princesses warring in space, haunting ghost stories in Argentina, mermaids off the coast of the Caribbean, swamps that whisper secrets, and many more realms explored and unexplored; this stunning collection of seventeen short stories breaks borders and realms to prove that stories are truly universal.

Reclaim the Stars features both bestselling and acclaimed authors as well as two new voices in the genres: Vita Ayala, David Bowles, J.C. Cervantes, Zoraida Córdova, Sara Faring, Romina Garber, Isabel Ibañez, Anna-Marie McLemore, Yamile Saied Méndez, Nina Moreno, Circe Moskowitz, Maya Motayne, Linda Raquel Nieves Pérez, Daniel José Older, Claribel A. Ortega, Mark Oshiro and Lilliam Rivera.

ZORAIDA CÓRDOVA is the acclaimed author of more than a dozen novels and short stories, including the Brooklyn Brujas seriesStar Wars: Galaxy’s Edge: A Crash of Fate, and The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina. In addition to writing novels, she serves on the board of We Need Diverse Books and is the coeditor of the bestselling anthology Vampires Never Get Old. She is the cohost of the writing podcast, Deadline City, and writes romance novels as Zoey Castile. Zoraida was born in Guayaquil, Ecuador, and calls New York City home. When she’s not working, she’s roaming the world in search of magical stories.

Pronouns: she/her

MARK OSHIRO is the Hugo-nominated writer of the online Mark Does Stuff universe (Mark Reads and Mark Watches), where they analyze book and TV series. Their debut novel, Anger Is a Gift, was a recipient of the Schneider Family Book Award for 2019. Their lifelong goal is to pet every dog in the world.

Pronouns: they/he

LINDA RAQUEL NIEVES PÉREZ is an Afro-boricua writer born on a rainy night in Arecibo, Puerto Rico, which they often blame for their obsession with writing water goddesses with stormy tempers. Her goal is to see more curls and fat bodies portrayed in the books they read. When she’s not buried between casebooks and sketch-books, you can find her talking about her latest reads and Pride and Prejudice on Twitter (@MissLindaBennet) and Instagram (@linda.reads). 

Pronouns: she/they

New York Times Bestselling and award-winning author, CLARIBEL A. ORTEGA is a former reporter who writes middle-grade and young adult fantasy inspired by her Dominican heritage. When she's not busy turning her obsession with eighties pop culture, magic, and video games into books, she’s co-hosting her podcast Bad Author Book Club and helping authors navigate publishing with her consulting business GIFGRRL. Claribel is a Marvel contributor and has been featured on Buzzfeed, Bustle, Good Morning America and Deadline. Claribel’s debut middle grade novel GHOST SQUAD is out now from Scholastic and is being made into a feature film. Her forthcoming books include Witchlings (Scholastic) and the graphic novel Frizzy (First Second.)

Pronouns: she/her

Lilliam Rivera is an award-winning author of the young adult novels Never Look Back, a Pura Belpré Honor winner, Dealing In Dreams, The Education of Margot Sanchez, as well as the Goldie Vance series for middle-grade readers, and the stand-alone middle-grade novel Barely Floating. Her latest works include a young adult science fiction novel, We Light Up the Sky, for Bloomsbury (Oct 5, 2021) and a graphic novel for DC Comics, Unearthed: A Jessica Cruz Story (September 14, 2021), both named “Best Books of 2021” by Kirkus Review and School Library Journal. Her work has appeared in The Washington Post, the New York Times, and Elle, to name a few. Lilliam lives in Los Angeles.

Vita Ayala is a trans-non-binary Afro-Puerto Rican writer born and bred in New York City, where they grew up dreaming dreams of dancing on faraway worlds, fighting monsters on the block, and racing fish along the bottom of the ocean. Before Vita began freelancing as a writer, they worked in book retail, event coordination, building management, baking, and museum security (day and graveyard shift). They’ve broken at least one of every bone in their body, which means they can feel the rain coming. Vita writes both comics and prose fiction and has written for publishers such as: Black Mask Studios, DC (comics), Dynamite, IDW, Image Comics, Macmillan, Marvel Comics, Realm, Valiant, and Vault Comics. Vita currently resides in New York City with their wife and cat sons.

Pronouns: they/them

This event is free and open to all people, especially to those who have no income or low income right now, but we encourage and appreciate a solidarity donation in support of the work of Charis Circle, our programming non-profit. Charis Circle's mission is to foster sustainable feminist communities, work for social justice, and encourage the expression of diverse and marginalized voices. https://donatenow.networkforgood.org/CharisCircle?code=chariscirclepage

We will be archiving this event and adding closed captioning as soon as possible after airing so that it will be accessible to deaf and HOH people. If you have other accessibility needs or if you are someone who has skills in making digital events more accessible please don't hesitate to reach out to info@chariscircle.org. We are actively learning the best practices for this technology and we welcome your feedback as we begin this new way of connecting across distances.

By attending our virtual event you agree to our Code of Conduct: Our event seeks to provide a harassment-free experience for everyone, regardless of gender, gender identity and expression, age, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, ethnicity, religion (or lack thereof), class, or technology choices. We do not tolerate harassment in any form. Sexual language and imagery are not appropriate. Anyone violating these rules will be expelled from this event and all future events at the discretion of the organizers. Please report all harassment to info@chariscircle.org immediately.

Event address: 
CROWDCAST
Reclaim the Stars: 17 Tales Across Realms & Space By Zoraida Córdova Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250790637
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wednesday Books - February 15th, 2022

From stories that take you to the stars, to stories that span into other times and realms, to stories set in the magical now, Reclaim the Stars takes the Latin American diaspora to places fantastical and out of this world.


The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina: A Novel By Zoraida Córdova Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982102548
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - September 7th, 2021

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, a family searches for the truth hidden in their past in this “expertly woven tale of family power, threaded with as much mystery as magic” (V.E. Schwab, #1 New York Times bestselling author).

The Montoyas are used to a life without explanations.


Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas) By Zoraida Córdova Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781492623168
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - August 1st, 2017

The first book in the Latinx-infused Queer fantasy series from Zoraida Córdova, highly acclaimed author of The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina, that follows three sisters—and teen witches—as they develop their powers and battle magic through epic questing in the realms beyond.


Vampires Never Get Old: Tales with Fresh Bite (Untold Legends #1) By Zoraida Córdova, Natalie C. Parker Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250230010
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Imprint - September 22nd, 2020

"Boundary-pushing... Stories that stake a new claim on old tropes." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

Eleven fresh vampire stories from young adult fiction’s leading voices fill this bestselling anthology—including V.E. Schwab's First Kill, now a major Netflix adaptation!


The Insiders By Mark Oshiro Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063008106
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - September 21st, 2021

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * An ALA Rainbow Book List Top 10 Title for Young Readers

Three kids who don’t belong. A room that shouldn’t exist. A year that will change everything.


Anger Is a Gift: A Novel By Mark Oshiro Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250167033
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Teen - May 7th, 2019

The trade paperback edition of the highly buzzed about YA debut from Mark Oshiro, Anger Is a Gift follows a boy from Oakland as he falls in love amidst the chaos of modern America.

*31st Annual Lammy Finalist for LGBTQ Childrens/Young Adult category*
*2019 ALA Schneider Family Book Award Teen Winner*


We Light Up the Sky By Lilliam Rivera Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781547603763
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury YA - October 26th, 2021

Should you save a world that doesn't want to save you?
Award-winning author Lilliam Rivera explores the haunting story of an alien invasion from the perspective of three Latinx teens.


Unearthed: A Jessica Cruz Story By Lilliam Rivera, Steph C. (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Lilliam Rivera, Steph C. (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781779500519
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: DC Comics - September 14th, 2021

Acclaimed author Lilliam Rivera and artist Steph C. reimagine one of DC's greatest Green Lanterns, Jessica Cruz, to tell a story about immigration, family, and overcoming fear to inspire hope.


Never Look Back By Lilliam Rivera Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781547607426
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury YA - October 26th, 2021

"Expertly blends reality and fantasy to explore what's behind love and loss, what it takes to heal." - Randy Ribay, author of National Book Award finalist Patron Saints of Nothing

Acclaimed author Lilliam Rivera blends a touch of magical realism into a timely story about cultural identity, overcoming trauma, and the power of first love.


The Education of Margot Sanchez By Lilliam Rivera Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781481472128
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 27th, 2018

John Hughes’s Pretty in Pink comes to the South Bronx in this bold and “emotional story about class, race, hard work, and finding one’s place” (Publishers Weekly)—from author Lilliam Rivera.

Things/People Margot Hates:
Mami, for destroying her social life
Papi, for allowing Junior to become a Neanderthal
Junior, for becoming a N


Event Summary: 
From stories that take you to the stars, to stories that span into other times and realms, to stories set in the magical now, RECLAIM THE STARS takes the Latin American diaspora to places fantastical and out of this world.