Charis Books and More Logo

Namrata Poddar in conversation with Anjali Enjeti--A Celebration of Border Less and The Parted Earth

Event date: 
Friday, March 11, 2022 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm

This event takes place on crowdcast, Charis' virtual event platform. Register here.

Charis welcomes Namrata Poddar and Anjali Enjeti in conversation for Poddar's debut novel, Border Less, and the paperback release of Anjali’s 2021 debut novel The Parted EarthWith its fragmented form, staccato rhythm, repetition, and play with the English language, Border Less questions the “mainstream” Western novel and its assumptions of good storytelling. Spanning more than half a century and cities from New Delhi to Atlanta, Anjali Enjeti's debut is a heartfelt and human portrait of the long shadow of the Partition of India on the lives of three generations of women.

Border Less

Dia Mittal is an airline call center agent in Mumbai searching for a new life. When her search takes her to America, Dia’s journey into selfhood foregrounds the experiences and perspectives of a transnational brown community of South Asian descent across the class spectrum.  

As the book follows Dia’s migration via call center agents, travel agents, immigrant maids, fashion designers, blue- and white-collar workers in the hospitality industry, junior and senior artists in Bollywood, hustling single mothers, academics, tourists in the Third World, and refugees displaced by military superpowers, among others, they negotiate different life roles and power struggles that are mediated by race, class, gender, nationality, age, and place.

The Parted Earth

The story begins in August 1947. Unrest plagues the streets of New Delhi leading up to the birth of the Muslim majority nation of Pakistan, and the Hindu majority nation of India. Sixteen-year-old Deepa navigates the changing politics of her home, finding solace in messages of intricate origami from her secret boyfriend Amir. Soon Amir flees with his family to Pakistan and a tragedy forces Deepa to leave the subcontinent forever.

The story also begins sixty years later and half a world away, in Atlanta. While grieving both a pregnancy loss and the implosion of her marriage, Deepa's granddaughter Shan begins the search for her estranged grandmother, a prickly woman who had little interest in knowing her. As she pieces together her family history shattered by the Partition, Shan discovers how little she actually knows about the women in her family and what they endured.

For readers of Jess Walter's Beautiful RuinsThe Parted Earth follows Shan on her search for identity after loss uproots her life. Above all, it is a novel about families weathering the lasting violence of separation, and how it can often takes a lifetime to find unity and peace.

About the Authors

Namrata Poddar writes fiction and nonfiction, serves as Interviews Editor for Kweli, and teaches literature as well as creative writing at UCLA. Her work has appeared in several publications including Poets & Writers, Literary Hub, Longreads, The Kenyon Review, Electric Literature, Catapult, and The Best Asian Short Stories. Her debut novel, Border Less, was a finalist for Feminist Press's Meriwhether Award, and releases on March 1, 2022 from 7.13 Books. She holds a PhD in French literature from the University of Pennsylvania, an MFA in Fiction from Bennington College, and a Mellon Postdoctoral Fellowship in Transnational Cultures from UCLA. She is a first-generation Indian American who has lived in different parts of the world before making Greater Los Angeles home. Find her on Twitter,  @poddar_namrata, and on Instagram, @writerpoddar.

Anjali Enjeti is an award-winning essayist whowrites about books, politics, and social justice. Her work has appeared in the AtlantaJournal-Constitution, Al Jazeera, Boston Globe, Washington Post, and other venues. She is the author of the novel, The Parted Earth and essays, Southbound: Essays on Identity, Inheritance, and Social Change. She teaches creative writing in the MFA program at Reinhardt University andlives with her family near Atlanta.

This event is free and open to all people, especially to those who have no income or low income right now, but we encourage and appreciate a solidarity donation in support of the work of Charis Circle, our programming non-profit. Charis Circle's mission is to foster sustainable feminist communities, work for social justice, and encourage the expression of diverse and marginalized voices. https://donatenow.networkforgood.org/CharisCircle?code=chariscirclepage

We will be archiving this event and adding closed captioning as soon as possible after airing so that it will be accessible to deaf and HOH people. If you have other accessibility needs or if you are someone who has skills in making digital events more accessible please don't hesitate to reach out to info@chariscircle.org. We are actively learning the best practices for this technology and we welcome your feedback as we begin this new way of connecting across distances.

By attending our virtual event you agree to our Code of Conduct: Our event seeks to provide a harassment-free experience for everyone, regardless of gender, gender identity and expression, age, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, ethnicity, religion (or lack thereof), class, or technology choices. We do not tolerate harassment in any form. Sexual language and imagery are not appropriate. Anyone violating these rules will be expelled from this event and all future events at the discretion of the organizers. Please report all harassment to info@chariscircle.org immediately.

Event address: 
CROWDCAST
Border Less By Namrata Poddar Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781736176788
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: 7.13 Books - March 1st, 2022

The Parted Earth By Anjali Enjeti Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781938235962
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hub City Press - April 26th, 2022

Spanning more than half a century and cities from New Delhi to Atlanta, Anjali Enjeti's debut is a heartfelt and human portrait of the long shadow of the Partition of India on the lives of three generations of women.


Southbound: Essays on Identity, Inheritance, and Social Change By Anjali Enjeti Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780820360065
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Georgia Press - April 15th, 2021

A move at age ten from a Detroit suburb to Chattanooga in 1984 thrusts Anjali Enjeti into what feels like a new world replete with Confederate flags, Bible verses, and whiteness. It is here that she learns how to get her bearings as a mixed-race brown girl in the Deep South and begins to understand how identity can inspire, inform, and shape a commitment to activism.


Event Summary: 
Charis welcomes Namrata Poddar and Anjali Enjeti in conversation for Poddar's debut novel, Border Less, and the paperback release of Anjali’s 2021 debut novel The Parted Earth.