Charis Books and More Logo

Late Bloomers: Deepa Varadarajan in conversation with Zoe Fishman

Event date: 
Tuesday, May 2, 2023 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm

This event takes place in person at Charis and on crowdcast, Charis' virtual event platform. This event is free and registration is required for virtual attendance. Click here to register to attend virtually. Please read the in-person event guidelines at the bottom of this page if you wish to attend in-person.

Charis welcomes Deepa Varadarajan in conversation with Zoe Fishman for a celebration of Late Bloomers: A Novel. An Indian American family is turned upside down when the parents split up thirty-six years into their arranged marriage in this witty, big-hearted debut.

After thirty-six years of a dutiful but unhappy arranged marriage, recently divorced Suresh and Lata Raman find themselves starting new paths in life. Suresh is trying to navigate the world of online dating on a website that caters to Indians and is striking out at every turn—until he meets a mysterious, devastatingly attractive younger woman who seems to be smitten with him. Lata is enjoying her newfound independence, but she's caught off guard when a professor in his early sixties starts to flirt with her.  

Meanwhile, Suresh and Lata's daughter, Priya, thinks her father's online pursuits are distasteful even as she embarks upon a clandestine affair of her own. And their son, Nikesh, pretends at a seemingly perfect marriage with his law-firm colleague and their young son, but hides the truth of what his relationship really entails. Over the course of three weeks in August, the whole family will uncover one another's secrets, confront the limits of love and loyalty, and explore life's second chances. 

Charming, funny, and moving, Late Bloomers introduces a delightful new voice in fiction with the story of four individuals trying to understand how to be happy in their own lives—and as a family.

Deepa Varadarajan lives in Atlanta with her husband and two children. She is a legal academic and a graduate of Yale Law School. She grew up in Texas and received her BA from the University of Texas at Austin. Her short fiction has appeared in The Georgia Review and Colorado Review, and her legal scholarship has appeared in The Yale Law Journal and many other publications. Late Bloomers is her first novel.

Zoe Fishman is the 2020 Georgia Author of the Year. She is the bestselling author of six novels, the most recent of which is The Fun Widow’s Book Tour, a People Magazine Best Book. She’s received several awards including Booklist’s  “Top 10 Books of the Year” and an IndieNext Pick. She’s been featured on “City Lights” with Lois Reitzes, “Friends and Fiction” with Patti Callahan Henry, and in Publisher’s Weekly and The Atlanta Jewish Times among others. Her essays have been published in The New York TimesLiterary HubThe Atlanta Journal Constitution and Modern Loss. Zoe teaches writing at Intown Writers ATL and lives in Decatur with her two sons and a shorkie named Oreo.

In-person event guidelines:

  • All attendees must wear a face mask at all times.

  • We will begin seating people at 7 pm ET.

  • This event will be live-streamed via crowdcast. Click here to register to attend virtually.

  • As a reminder: If you are not feeling well, please do not come to the event.

  • If you have any questions regarding these guidelines or to request specific accessibility accommodations, please contact info@charisbooksandmore.com or call the store at 404-524-0304

If you would like to watch the virtual event with computer-generated captions, please watch in Google Chrome and enable captions. If you have other accessibility needs or if you are someone who has skills in making digital events more accessible please don't hesitate to reach out to info@chariscircle.org. We are actively learning the best practices for this technology and we welcome your feedback as we continue to connect across distances.

By attending our event you agree to our Code of Conduct: Our event seeks to provide a harassment-free experience for everyone, regardless of gender, gender identity and expression, age, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, ethnicity, religion (or lack thereof), class, or technology choices. We do not tolerate harassment in any form. Sexual language and imagery are not appropriate. Anyone violating these rules will be expelled from this event and all future events at the discretion of the organizers. Please report all harassment to info@chariscircle.org immediately.

Event address: 
A Charis Hybrid (In-Person + Virtual) Event
184 S. Candler Street
Decatur, GA 30030
Late Bloomers: A Novel By Deepa Varadarajan Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593498026
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - May 2nd, 2023

An Indian American family is turned upside down when the parents split up thirty-six years into their arranged marriage​ in this “heartwarming journey of self-discovery” (Southern Living).

“Touching . . . both funny and moving—a family drama the entire family can enjoy.”—Reader’s Digest


The Fun Widow's Book Tour: A Novel By Zoe Fishman Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062838247
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - March 14th, 2023

From the author of Inheriting Edith comes a brave new novel about the intersection of art and grief after the tragic loss of her own husband in 2017.

Mia used to be fun. She was the class clown; a member of the mile high club; the mom who made her sons giggle with her bad British accent and well-placed tickles.


Inheriting Edith: A Novel By Zoe Fishman Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062378743
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 18th, 2016

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat—she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.


Event Summary: 
An Indian American family is turned upside down when the parents split up thirty-six years into their arranged marriage in this witty, big-hearted debut.