Charis Books and More Logo

Lark & Kasim Start a Revolution: Kacen Callender in conversation with Mark Oshiro

Event date: 
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm

This event takes place on crowdcast, Charis' virtual event platform. Register here. 

Charis welcomes Kacen Callender in conversation with Mark Oshiro for a celebration of Lark & Kasim Start a Revolution. From National Book Award–winner Kacen Callender, a contemporary YA that follows Lark's journey to speak the truth and discover how their own self-love can be a revolution. This event is co-hosted by the Auburn Avenue Research Library on African American Culture and History.


Lark Winters wants to be a writer, and for now that means posting on their social media accounts––anything to build their platform. When former best friend Kasim accidentally posts a thread on Lark's Twitter declaring his love for a secret, unrequited crush, Lark's tweets are suddenly the talk of the school—and beyond. To protect Kasim, Lark decides to take the fall, pretending they accidentally posted the thread in reference to another classmate. It seems like a great idea: Lark gets closer to their crush, Kasim keeps his privacy, and Lark's social media stats explode. But living a lie takes a toll—as does the judgment of thousands of Internet strangers. Lark tries their best to be perfect at all costs, but nothing seems good enough for the anonymous hordes––or for Kasim, who is growing closer to Lark, just like it used to be between them . . .

In the end, Lark must embrace their right to their messy emotions and learn how to be in love.

Kacen Callender is the bestselling and award-winning author of multiple novels for children, teens, and adults, including the Stonewall Honor Book Felix Ever After and the National Book Award for Young People's Literature King and the Dragonflies. Callender enjoys playing RPG video games, practicing their art, and focusing on healing and growth in their free time. 

Mark Oshiro is the award-winning author of the young adult books ANGER IS A GIFT (2019 Schneider Family Book Award), EACH OF US A DESERT, and INTO THE LIGHT, as well as their middle grade books THE INSIDERS and YOU ONLY LIVE ONCE, DAVID BRAVO. They are also the co-author (with Rick Riordan) of the upcoming PERCY JACKSON novel centered on Nico di Angelo and Will Solace. When not writing, they are trying to pet every dog in the world.

This event is free and open to all people, especially to those who have no income or low income right now, but we encourage and appreciate a solidarity donation in support of the work of Charis Circle, our programming non-profit. Charis Circle's mission is to foster sustainable feminist communities, work for social justice, and encourage the expression of diverse and marginalized voices. https://donatenow.networkforgood.org/CharisCircle?code=chariscirclepage

Please contact us at info@chariscircle.org or 404-524-0304 if you would like ASL interpretation at this event. If you would like to watch the event with live AI captions, you may do so by watching it in Google Chrome and enabling captions: Instructions here. If you have other accessibility needs or if you are someone who has skills in making digital events more accessible please don't hesitate to reach out to info@chariscircle.org. We are actively learning the best practices for this technology and we welcome your feedback as we begin this new way of connecting across distances.

By attending our virtual event you agree to our Code of Conduct: Our event seeks to provide a harassment-free experience for everyone, regardless of gender, gender identity and expression, age, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, ethnicity, religion (or lack thereof), class, or technology choices. We do not tolerate harassment in any form. Sexual language and imagery are not appropriate. Anyone violating these rules will be expelled from this event and all future events at the discretion of the organizers. Please report all harassment to info@chariscircle.org immediately.

Event address: 
CROWDCAST
Lark & Kasim Start a Revolution By Kacen Callender Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419756870
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amulet Books - September 27th, 2022

From National Book Award–winner Kacen Callender, a contemporary YA that follows Lark's journey to speak the truth and discover how their own self-love can be a revolution

Lark Winters wants to be a writer, and for now that means posting on their social media accounts––anything to build their platform.


Moonflower By Kacen Callender Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338636598
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - September 6th, 2022

Kacen Callender, National Book Award winner of King and the Dragonflies, delivers a stunning novel that invites readers into a child’s struggles with mental health, and their journey to wholeness.

Moon’s depression is overwhelming. Therapy doesn’t help, and Moon is afraid that their mom hates them because they’re sad.


King and the Dragonflies (Scholastic Gold) By Kacen Callender Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781338129342
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - May 3rd, 2022

A 2021 Coretta Scott King Honor Book!

Winner of the 2020 National Book Award for Young People's Literature!

Winner of the 2020 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for Fiction and Poetry!


Felix Ever After By Kacen Callender Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062820259
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 5th, 2020

A Stonewall Honor Book * A Time Magazine Best YA Book of All Time

From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.


Queen of the Conquered (Islands of Blood and Storm #1) By Kacen Callender Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316454933
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - November 12th, 2019

An ambitious and unflinching tale of colonialism, conquest, and revenge, Queen of the Conquered begins a powerful fantasy series set in a Caribbean-inspired world. 

*Named one of TIME's Top 100 Fantasy Books Of All Time
* World Fantasy Award for Best Novel, winner


On the islands of Hans Lollik, Sigourney Rose was the only


Hurricane Child (Scholastic Gold) By Kacen Callender Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338129311
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - October 1st, 2019

Prepare to be swept up by this exquisite novel that reminds us that grief and love can open the world in mystical ways.

Winner of the Stonewall Book AwardWinner of the Lambda Literary AwardCaroline Murphy is a Hurricane Child.Being born during a hurricane is unlucky, and 12-year-old Caroline has had her share of bad luck lately.


You Only Live Once, David Bravo By Mark Oshiro Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063008151
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - September 20th, 2022

From Mark Oshiro, award-winning author of The Insiders, this time-bending adventure is perfect for fans of Sal and Gabi Break the Universe and When You Reach Me.


The Insiders By Mark Oshiro Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063008106
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - September 21st, 2021

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * An ALA Rainbow Book List Top 10 Title for Young Readers

Three kids who don’t belong. A room that shouldn’t exist. A year that will change everything.


Each of Us a Desert By Mark Oshiro Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250169228
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Teen - November 9th, 2021

From award-winning author Mark Oshiro comes a powerful coming-of-age fantasy novel about finding home and falling in love amidst the dangers of a desert where stories come to life


Pre-Order Now Badge
Into the Light By Mark Oshiro Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250812254
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tor Teen - March 28th, 2023

Hidden Secrets Always Come to Light.
Award-winning author Mark Oshiro (Anger is a Gift) returns with a new contemporary coming-of-age novel laced with a twisty, dark mystery you’ll have to read to believe.


Anger Is a Gift: A Novel By Mark Oshiro Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250167033
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Teen - May 7th, 2019

The trade paperback edition of the highly buzzed about YA debut from Mark Oshiro, Anger Is a Gift follows a boy from Oakland as he falls in love amidst the chaos of modern America.

*31st Annual Lammy Finalist for LGBTQ Childrens/Young Adult category*
*2019 ALA Schneider Family Book Award Teen Winner*


Event Summary: 
A contemporary YA that follows Lark's journey to speak the truth and discover how their own self-love can be a revolution.