Charis Books and More Logo

Jade Is a Twisted Green: Tanya Turton in conversation with Dr. Ikeranda Smith

Event date: 
Tuesday, October 11, 2022 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm

This event takes place in person at Charis and on crowdcast, Charis' virtual event platform. This event is free, but registration is requested if you choose to attend in person, and required for virtual attendance. Click here to register to attend virtuallyClick here to register to attend in person. Please read the in-person event guidelines at the bottom of this page to be sure you can participate in the event.

Charis welcomes Tanya Turton in conversation with Dr. Ikeranda Smith for a celebration of Jade Is a Twisted Green. For readers of Queenie and Honey Girl, a coming-of-age story about queer Black identity, love, passion, chosen family, and rediscovering life's pleasures after loss.

After the mysterious death of her twin sister, Jade Brown, a twenty-four-year-old first-generation Jamaican woman living in Toronto, must find a way to pick up the pieces and discover who she is without her other half.

Grappling with her grief, Jade seeks solace in lovers and friends during an array of hilarious and heartbreaking adventures. As she investigates some of life's most frustrating paradoxes, she holds tight to old friends and her ex-girlfriend, lifelines between past and present. On the journey to turning twenty-five, she finally sees that she belongs to herself, and goes about the business of reclaiming that self.

Through a series of whirlwind love affairs, parties, and trips abroad, Jade stumbles toward relinquishing the weight of her trauma as she fully comes into her own as a young Black woman and writer.

Hailing from Jamaica, and raised in Toronto, Tanya Turton is an award-winning entrepreneur, storyteller, wellness educator, and mental health advocate. Tanya describes her calling by saying "I facilitate and provide spaces for people to fall deeper in love with who and how they are”. As a wellness world builder Tanya takes steps to tell intersectional stories, and construct a world for Black and queer communities to feel heard, seen, and witnessed. Tanya is the author of Jade Is a Twisted Green, A coming-of-age story about Jamaican Canadian identity, love, passion, chosen family, and rediscovering life’s pleasures after loss. The founder and Executive Director of Adornment Stories, a Mental Health grassroots non-profit for Black women, femmes, queer, trans and non-binary communities to tell their stories through a plurality of creative means while building their capacity. The Lead Educator and founder of NiaZamar: Redefining Beauty, an intersectional education platform, a love centred community and a space for claiming freedom via self-care and collective-care. Her work centres early engagement mental health initiatives and intersectional frameworks of engagement. Mixing wellness, narratives, arts education and mental health advocacy she offers a unique blend of engaging tools to meet people where they are at.

Dr. Ikeranda Smith is a compassionate scholar-practitioner focused on serving humanity through efforts to build and strengthen communities. As an educator, she creates spaces for scholars to excel as global thought leaders by infusing theories that transform environments by teaching innovative ways to integrate psychology in traditional settings. As a Life Coach, she believes in helping people reclaim their authentic selves and achieve more fulfillment in their lives. Dr. Smith is focused on efforts that aim to establish safer spaces that support intergenerational restorative practices while developing areas that foster a sense of collaborative care with others. As a queer black woman, she is committed to creating spaces that promote safety and healing for individuals identified as LGBTQIA+. Dr. Smith’s areas of interest include gender equity, the predictive measures that class has on educational outcomes, examining family dynamics and the effects of inner child trauma, and exploring the underrepresentation of African Americans in various spaces. Her most recent projects involve creating models that deconstruct barriers caused by trauma that interfere with us loving courageously, parenting consciously, and enhancing the morale of organizations. Dr. Smith holds a doctorate in Psychology with a concentration in teaching from Walden University. She also obtained her Master’s degree in Psychology from Walden University and her Bachelor’s in Business Management from National Louis University. She has served as a Board Member for Sanders Elementary and a Committee Member for several advisory boards. She is also involved with several professional organizations. She has previously served as the Secretary of The International Honor Society in Psychology (PSI CHI) and the Secretary for the National Parent Teachers Association (PTA).

This event is free and open to all people, especially to those who have no income or low income right now, but we encourage and appreciate a solidarity donation in support of the work of Charis Circle, our programming non-profit. Charis Circle's mission is to foster sustainable feminist communities, work for social justice, and encourage the expression of diverse and marginalized voices. https://donatenow.networkforgood.org/CharisCircle?code=chariscirclepage 

In-person event guidelines: 

  • RSVP is strongly recommended.
  • All attendees must wear a face mask at all times
  • Tickets are limited to restrict capacity and preference will be given to ticket holders.
  • We will begin seating people at 7 pm ET.
  • Additional copies of the book will be available for purchase at the event.
  • Home address is collected for contact tracing purposes.
  • This event will be live-streamed via crowdcast. Click here to register to attend virtually.
  • As a reminder: If you are not feeling well, please do not come to the event.
  • If you have any questions regarding these guidelines or to request specific accessibility accommodations, please contact info@charisbooksandmore.com or call the store at 404-524-0304

If you would like to watch the virtual event with computer-generated captions, please watch in Google Chrome and enable captions. If you have other accessibility needs or if you are someone who has skills in making digital events more accessible please don't hesitate to reach out to info@chariscircle.org. We are actively learning the best practices for this technology and we welcome your feedback as we continue to connect across distances.

By attending our event you agree to our Code of Conduct: Our event seeks to provide a harassment-free experience for everyone, regardless of gender, gender identity and expression, age, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, ethnicity, religion (or lack thereof), class, or technology choices. We do not tolerate harassment in any form. Sexual language and imagery are not appropriate. Anyone violating these rules will be expelled from this event and all future events at the discretion of the organizers. Please report all harassment to info@chariscircle.org immediately.

Event address: 
Charis Books and More
184 S. Candler Street
Decatur, GA 30030
Jade Is a Twisted Green By Tanya Turton Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781459748606
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Rare Machines - October 11th, 2022

For readers of Queenie and Honey Girl, a coming-of-age story about queer Black identity, love, passion, chosen family, and rediscovering life's pleasures after loss.


Event Summary: 
For readers of Queenie and Honey Girl, a coming-of-age story about queer Black identity, love, passion, chosen family, and rediscovering life's pleasures after loss.