Charis Books and More Logo

Dear Memory: Letters on Writing, Silence, and Grief--Victoria Chang in conversation with Anjali Enjeti

Event date: 
Tuesday, November 9, 2021 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm

This event takes place on crowdcast, Charis' virtual event platform. Register here.

Charis welcomes Victoria Chang in conversation with Anjali Enjeti for a discussion of Dear Memory: Letters on Writing, Silence, and Grief, a collection of literary letters and mementos on the art of remembering across generations.

For poet Victoria Chang, memory "isn't something that blooms, but something that bleeds internally." It is willed, summoned, and dragged to the surface. The remembrances in this collection of letters are founded in the fragments of stories her mother shared reluctantly, and the silences of her father, who first would not and then could not share more. They are whittled and sculpted from an archive of family relics: a marriage license, a letter, a visa petition, a photograph. And, just as often, they are built on the questions that can no longer be answered. Dear Memory is not a transcription but a process of simultaneously shaping and being shaped, knowing that when a writer dips their pen into history, what emerges is poetry. In carefully crafted missives on trauma and loss, on being American and Chinese, Victoria Chang shows how grief can ignite a longing to know yourself. In letters to family, past teachers, and fellow poets, as the imagination, Dear Memory offers a model for what it looks like to find ourselves in our histories.

Victoria Chang is the author of Dear Memory. Her poetry books include OBITBarbie ChangThe BossSalvinia Molesta, and CircleOBIT received the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, and the PEN Voeckler Award; it was also a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Prize and the Griffin Poetry Prize and was long-listed for the National Book Award. She is also the author of a children’s picture book, Is Mommy?, illustrated by Marla Frazee and named a New York Times Notable Book, and a middle-grade novel, Love, Love. She has received a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Sustainable Arts Foundation Fellowship, the Poetry Society of America’s Alice Fay Di Castagnola Award, a Pushcart Prize, a Lannan Residency Fellowship, and a Katherine Min MacDowell Colony Fellowship. She lives in Los Angeles and is the program chair of Antioch University’s low-residency MFA program.

Anjali Enjeti is a former attorney, journalist, teacher, and organizer based near Atlanta. Her books Southbound: Essays on Identity, Inheritance, and Social Change, and the novel, The Parted Earth were published earlier this year. Her other writing has appeared in The Oxford American, Harper’s Bazaar, USA Today, the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Washington Post, and elsewhere. She teaches creative writing in the MFA program at Reinhardt University.

This event is free and open to all people, especially to those who have no income or low income right now, but we encourage and appreciate a solidarity donation in support of the work of Charis Circle, our programming non-profit. Charis Circle's mission is to foster sustainable feminist communities, work for social justice, and encourage the expression of diverse and marginalized voices. https://donatenow.networkforgood.org/CharisCircle?code=chariscirclepage

We will be archiving this event and adding closed captioning as soon as possible after airing so that it will be accessible to deaf and HOH people. If you have other accessibility needs or if you are someone who has skills in making digital events more accessible please don't hesitate to reach out to info@chariscircle.org. We are actively learning the best practices for this technology and we welcome your feedback as we begin this new way of connecting across distances.

By attending our virtual event you agree to our Code of Conduct: Our event seeks to provide a harassment-free experience for everyone, regardless of gender, gender identity and expression, age, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, ethnicity, religion (or lack thereof), class, or technology choices. We do not tolerate harassment in any form. Sexual language and imagery are not appropriate. Anyone violating these rules will be expelled from this event and all future events at the discretion of the organizers. Please report all harassment to info@chariscircle.org immediately.

Event address: 
CROWDCAST
Dear Memory: Letters on Writing, Silence, and Grief Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781571313928
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Milkweed Editions - October 12th, 2021

A collection of literary letters and mementos on the art of remembering across generations.


Obit Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781556595745
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Copper Canyon Press - April 7th, 2020

The New York Times 100 Notable Books of 2020

Time Magazine's 100 Must-Read Books of 2020

NPR's Best Books of 2020

National Book Award in Poetry, Longlist

Frank Sanchez Book Award


Barbie Chang Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781556595165
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Copper Canyon Press - November 14th, 2017

With astringent understatement and wry economy, with nuance and intelligence and an enviable command of syntax and poetic line, Victoria Chang dissects the venerable practices of cultural piety and self-regard. She is a master of the thumbnail narrative. She can wield a dark eroticism. She is determined to tackle subject matter that is not readily subdued to the proportions of lyric.


Love, Love Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781454944102
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sterling Children's Books - October 12th, 2021

Fans of Inside Out and Back Again will love this novel-in-verse about a Chinese-American girl who contends with school bullies, worries about her sister's mysterious illness, and finds strength at the local tennis court.


Event Summary: 
Charis welcomes Victoria Chang in conversation with Anjali Enjeti for a discussion of Dear Memory: Letters on Writing, Silence, and Grief, a collection of literary letters and mementos on the art of remembering across generations.