Charis Books and More Logo

Brandy Colbert with Becky Albertalli in Celebration of The Voting Booth

Event date: 
Saturday, July 11, 2020 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm

Charis welcomes Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert with special guest Becky Albertalli in celebration of her newest novel, The Voting Booth, an all-in-one-day love story about two first-time teen voters who meet at their polling place and overcome obstacle after obstacle in order to cast a ballot in a critical election.  The Lola's mission is to bring together womxn as allies and accomplices to tell our stories, raise our voices and dismantle a system that doesn't serve us. Click here to learn more. ​​​​​

When Marva sees Duke turned away from their polling place, she takes it upon herself to make sure his vote is counted. She hasn't spent months doorbelling and registering voters just to see someone denied their right.And that's how their whirlwind day begins, rushing from precinct to precinct, cutting school, waiting in endless lines, turned away time and again, trying to do one simple thing: vote. They may have started out as strangers, but as Duke and Marva team up to beat a rigged system (and find Marva's missing cat), it's clear that there's more to their connection than a shared mission for democracy.

Brandy Colbert is the author of the Stonewall Award–winning novel Little & Lion, the critically acclaimed novels The Revolution of Birdie RandolphPointeFinding Yvonne, and The Only Black Girls in Town, and the forthcoming The Voting Booth. Growing up in Springfield, Missouri, Brandy was surrounded by stories from a young age. She currently works as a copy editor for magazines and books, and is a faculty member in the MFAC program at Hamline University. These days, Brandy lives and writes in sunny Los Angeles.

This event takes place live on crowdcast. Click here to register. 

The event is free and open to all people, especially to those who have no income or low income right now, but we encourage and appreciate a solidarity donation in support of the work of Charis Circle, our programming non-profit. Charis Circle's mission is to foster sustainable feminist communities, work for social justice, and encourage the expression of diverse and marginalized voices. As always, if you enjoy the event we ask that you buy the author's books from Charis.

We will be archiving this event and adding closed captioning as soon as possible after airing so that it will be accessible to deaf and HOH people. If you have other accessibility needs or if you are someone who has skills in making digital events more accessible please don't hesitate to reach out to info@chariscircle.org. We are actively learning the best practices for this technology and we welcome your feedback as we begin this new way of connecting across distances.

By attending our virtual event you agree to our Code of Conduct: Our event seeks to provide a harassment-free experience for everyone, regardless of gender, gender identity and expression, age, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, ethnicity, religion (or lack thereof), class, or technology choices. We do not tolerate harassment in any form. Sexual language and imagery are not appropriate. Anyone violating these rules will be expelled from this event and all future events at the discretion of the organizers. Please report all harassment to info@chariscircle.org immediately.

Event address: 
Online
The Voting Booth Cover Image
$17.09
ISBN: 9781368053297
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - July 7th, 2020

From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love story perfect for fans of The Sun is Also A Star.

Marva Sheridan was born ready for this day. She's always been driven to make a difference in the world, and what better way than to vote in her first election?


The Only Black Girls in Town Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9780316456388
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

Award-winning YA author Brandy Colbert's debut middle-grade novel about the only two black girls in town who discover a collection of hidden journals revealing shocking secrets of the past.


The Revolution of Birdie Randolph Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9780316448567
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - August 20th, 2019

From Stonewall Award winner Brandy Colbert comes a novel about first love, family, and hidden secrets that will stay with you long after turning the last page.


Edited by National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi, and featuring some of the most acclaimed bestselling Black authors writing for teens today—Black Enough is an essential collection of captivating stories about what it’s like to be young and Black in America. A selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.


Little & Lion Cover Image
$9.89
ISBN: 9780316349017
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - July 3rd, 2018

A stunning novel on love, identity, loss, and redemption.

When Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she's isn't sure if she'll ever want to go back. L.A. is where her friends and family are (as well as her crush, Emil). And her stepbrother, Lionel, who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, needs her emotional support.


The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks (Young Readers Edition) (ReVisioning History for Young People) Cover Image
By Jeanne Theoharis, Brandy Colbert (Adapted by)
$17.06
ISBN: 9780807067574
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Beacon Press - February 16th, 2021

This definitive biography of Rosa Parks accessibly examines her six decades of activism, challenging young readers perceptions of her as an accidental actor in the civil rights movement.


Event Summary: 
Charis welcomes Brandy Colbert in celebration of The Voting Booth, an all-in-one-day love story about two first-time teen voters who meet at their polling place and overcome obstacle after obstacle in order to cast a ballot in a critical election.