Charis Books and More Logo

Bethany C. Morrow and Zoraida Córdova in Conversation for A Song Below Water

Event date: 
Monday, June 8, 2020 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm

Charis welcomes authors Bethany C. Morrow and Zoraida Córdova, for a celebration of Bethany C. Morrow's  A Song Below Water— a captivating modern fantasy about black mermaids, friendship, and self-discovery set against the challenges of today's racism and sexism. 

In a society determined to keep her under lock and key, Tavia must hide her siren powers. Meanwhile, Effie is fighting her own family struggles, pitted against literal demons from her past. Together, these best friends must navigate through the perils of high school’s junior year. But everything changes in the aftermath of a siren murder trial that rocks the nation, and Tavia accidentally lets out her magical voice at the worst possible moment. Soon, nothing in Portland, Oregon, seems safe. To save themselves from drowning, it’s only Tavia and Effie’s unbreakable sisterhood that proves to be the strongest magic of all.

This event takes place on crowdcast, Charis' virtual event platform. Register here. The event is free and open to all people, especially to those who have no income or low income right now, but we encourage and appreciate a solidarity donation in support of the work of Charis Circle, our programming non-profit. Charis Circle's mission is to foster sustainable feminist communities, work for social justice, and encourage the expression of diverse and marginalized voices. As always, if you enjoy the event we ask that you buy the authors' books from Charis.

We will be archiving this event and adding closed captioning as soon as possible after airing so that it will be accessible to deaf and HOH people. If you have other accessibility needs or if you are someone who has skills in making digital events more accessible please don't hesitate to reach out to info@chariscircle.org. We are actively learning the best practices for this technology and we welcome your feedback as we begin this new way of connecting across distances.

By attending our virtual event you agree to our Code of Conduct: Our event seeks to provide a harassment-free experience for everyone, regardless of gender, gender identity and expression, age, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, race, ethnicity, religion (or lack thereof), class, or technology choices. We do not tolerate harassment in any form. Sexual language and imagery are not appropriate. Anyone violating these rules will be expelled from this event and all future events at the discretion of the organizers. Please report all harassment to info@chariscircle.org immediately.

Bethany C. Morrow is a recovering expat recently returning from six years in Montreal, Quebec, to live and write in north country, New York. A California native, Bethany graduated from the University of California, Santa Cruz with a BA in Sociology. Following undergrad, she studied Clinical Psychological Research at the University of Wales, Bangor, in Great Britain before returning to North America to focus on her literary work. She is the author of the adult novel Mem (Unnamed Press) and the editor of the young adult anthology Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance( Arthur A. Levine Books). A Song Below Water is her debut standalone young adult novel.

Zoraida Córdova is the author of several fantasy series for teens, including the award-winning Brooklyn Brujas series and Incendiary.  Her short fiction has appeared in several anthologies, including Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft.  Her debut middle grade novel is The Way to Rio Luna. She is the co-host of the podcast Deadline City with Dhonielle Clayton. Zoraida was born in Ecuador and raised in Queens, New York. When she isn’t working on her next novel, she’s planning a new adventure.

 

Event address: 
A Song Below Water: A Novel Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9781250315328
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Teen - June 2nd, 2020

Bethany C. Morrow's A Song Below Water is the story for today’s readers — a captivating modern fantasy about black sirens, friendship, and self-discovery set against the challenges of today's racism and sexism.

In a society determined to keep her under lock and key, Tavia must hide her siren powers.


Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9781338343700
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - October 1st, 2019

A young adult anthology featuring fictional stories of everyday resistance.

You might be the kind of person who stands up to online trolls.
Or who marches to protest injustice.

Perhaps you are #DisabledAndCute and dancing around your living room, alive and proud.

Or perhaps you are the trans mentor that you wish you had when you were younger.


Mem Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781944700867
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Unnamed Press - March 19th, 2019

"Bethany C. Morrow achieves the nearly impossible feat of creating truly new speculative fiction; reading it feels like discovery." -- BuzzFeed In Jazz Age Montreal, an underground Vault imprisons living memories. Known as Mems, theses physical clones of other people are doomed to experience a single memory over and over--one that belongs not to them, but to the memory's original Source.


The Way to Rio Luna Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9781338239546
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Inc. - June 2nd, 2020

For fans of The Land of Stories comes an adventure that reveals the secret warnings hidden inside all classic tales -- beware fairyland at all costs.


Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1) Cover Image
$17.09
ISBN: 9781368023801
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 28th, 2020

Set in a lushly drawn world inspired by Inquisition Spain, Zoraida Córdova's hotly anticipated new fantasy is an epic tale of love and revenge perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Sarah J. Maas.


The Vicious Deep Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781402274411
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - November 1st, 2012

From the author of Incendiary and the Brooklyn Brujas series, a long-lost heir of the mermaid Sea Court must fight for his life, and his humanity, as he's suddenly caught in a race for a throne that is as ancient as the gods.


Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge A Crash of Fate Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9781368048538
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney Lucasfilm Press - August 6th, 2019

From award award-winning author, Zoraida Córdova, comes a novel filled with adventure and romance set in the world of Galaxy's Edge, the Star Wars-themed land at Disneyland and Walt Disney World.



Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas #1) Cover Image
$9.89
ISBN: 9781492623168
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - August 1st, 2017

The first book in the Latinx-infused Queer fantasy series from highly acclaimed author Zoraida C rdova that follows three sisters--and teen witches--as they develop their powers and battle magic through epic questing in the realms beyond.


Wayward Witch (Brooklyn Brujas #3) Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9781492650683
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - September 1st, 2020

The witches of New York are back In the epic conclusion to the award-winning series, the final Mortiz sister's story is told. Infused with Latin American tradition--the Brooklyn Brujas series follows three sisters--and brujas--as they develop their powers and battle magic in their hometown and worlds beyond.


Event Summary: 
Charis welcomes authors Bethany C. Morrow and Zoraida Córdova, for a celebration of Bethany C. Morrow's  — a captivating modern fantasy about black mermaids, friendship, and self-discovery set against the challenges of today's racism and sexism.