Charis Books and More Logo

Disability and Anti-Ableism Books for Children

Don't Call Me Special: A First Look at Disability (First Look at Books) Cover Image
By Pat Thomas, Lesley Harker (Illustrator)
$8.09
ISBN: 9780764121180
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: B.E.S. Publishing - May 1st, 2002

This delightful picture book explores questions and concerns about physical disabilities in a simple and reassuring way. Younger children can find out about individual disabilities, special equipment that is available to help the disabled, and how people of all ages can deal with disabilities and live happy and full lives.


I Am Deaf (Live and Learn Books) Cover Image
$7.19
ISBN: 9780764141799
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: B.E.S. Publishing - March 1st, 2009

Titles in the Live and Learn series take a child's point of view--especially the view of children who either suffer from some physical challenge or lack self-confidence in going about their everyday activities. This book describes challenges that hearing-impaired children face, and how one child overcomes them to live a normal, happy life.


Can I Play Too? (Little Senses) Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9780525553465
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - March 31st, 2020

Friendship--and trains!--take center stage in this gentle, inviting story about paying attention to other people's feelings.


Baby's First Signs Cover Image
$7.95
ISBN: 9781563681141
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallaudet University Press - September 13th, 2001

Every parent knows the frustration of trying to satisfy the demands of an infant too young to communicate his or her thoughts.


The Boy with Big, Big Feelings Cover Image
By Britney Winn Lee, Jacob Souva (Illustrator)
$16.19
ISBN: 9781506454504
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Beaming Books - August 20th, 2019

Meet a boy with feelings so big that they glow from his cheeks, spill out of his eyes, and jump up and down on his chest. When a loud truck drives by, he cries. When he hears a joke, he bursts with joy. When his loved ones are having a hard day, he feels their emotions as if they were his own.


Not So Different: What You Really Want to Ask About Having a Disability Cover Image
By Shane Burcaw, Matt Carr (Illustrator)
$16.19
ISBN: 9781626727717
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - November 7th, 2017

Not So Different offers a humorous, relatable, and refreshingly honest glimpse into Shane Burcaw’s life. Shane tackles many of the mundane and quirky questions that he’s often asked about living with a disability, and shows readers that he’s just as approachable, friendly, and funny as anyone else.


Hello Goodbye Dog Cover Image
By Maria Gianferrari, Patrice Barton (Illustrator)
$16.19
ISBN: 9781626721777
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - July 25th, 2017

For Zara’s dog, Moose, nothing is more important than being with his favorite girl. So when Zara has to go to school, WHOOSH, Moose escapes and rushes to her side.

Hello, Moose!

Unfortunately, dogs aren’t allowed at school and Moose has to go back home.

Goodbye, Moose.


All the Way to the Top: How One Girl's Fight for Americans with Disabilities Changed Everything Cover Image
By Annette Bay Pimentel, Jennifer Keelan-Chaffins (Foreword by), Nabi Ali (Illustrator)
$16.19
ISBN: 9781492688976
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Explore - March 10th, 2020

Experience the true story of lifelong activist Jennifer Keelan-Chaffins and her participation in the Capitol Crawl in this inspiring autobiographical picture book. This beautifully illustrated story includes a foreword from Jennifer and backmatter detailing her life and the history of the disability rights movement.


The Waiting Song Cover Image
By Natasha Barber, Rayah Jaymes (Illustrator)
$8.96
ISBN: 9781941765562
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Future Horizons - November 1st, 2017

Nigel is a hedgehog. He's four years old, likes trains and cookies, and is a lot like other kids in class. Nigel is a little different, too. Nigel has autism. He doesn't talk or say many words. Nigel is not very good at taking turns or being polite, and he really does not like to wait. Nigel thought and thought and came up with the Waiting Song.


The ADHD Workbook for Kids: Helping Children Gain Self-Confidence, Social Skills, & Self-Control (Instant Help Book for Parents & Kids) Cover Image
$16.16
ISBN: 9781572247666
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Instant Help Publications - May 1st, 2010

All kids with attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) want to manage their symptoms in order to get along better with others, build confidence, and succeed in school, but most don't have the skills they need to get their impulsive behavior under control.


Attention, Girls!: A Guide to Learn All about Your AD/HD Cover Image
By Patricia O. Quinn, Carl Pearce (Illustrator)
$11.69
ISBN: 9781433804489
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Magination Press - April 1st, 2009

Suitable for 'tween' girls (ages 7-11) who have ADD/ADHD, this title offers girls, their parents, and professionals practical tips and techniques for managing attention disorders and the many aspects of life that these disorders can affect. It includes useful lessons that are simple to apply.


Thukpa for All Cover Image
$12.56
ISBN: 9788193388983
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Karadi Tales Picturebooks - October 1st, 2019

Tsering can't wait to taste his grandmother's delicious noodle soup.

He invites a string of friends and neighbours home. But as preparations get underway, there is a power cut and the house is plunged into darkness. Will Abi be able to put together the much-anticipated thukpa?


My Ocean Is Blue Cover Image
By Darren Lebeuf, Ashley Barron (Illustrator)
$16.19
ISBN: 9781525301438
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kids Can Press - March 3rd, 2020

"This is my ocean," the young girl begins as she heads over the dunes with her mother. Then, as they pass the whole day at the seaside, she lyrically describes her ocean in simple, sensory detail.


Just Ask!: Be Different, Be Brave, Be You Cover Image
By Sonia Sotomayor, Rafael López (Illustrator)
$16.19
ISBN: 9780525514121
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Philomel Books - September 3rd, 2019

Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor and award-winning artist Rafael Lopez create a kind and caring book about the differences that make each of us unique.

A #1 New York Times bestseller!

Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award!


Rescue and Jessica: A Life-Changing Friendship Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9780763696047
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - April 3rd, 2018

A 2019 Schneider Family Book Award Winner

Based on a real-life partnership, the heartening story of the love and teamwork between a girl and her service dog will illuminate and inspire.


Why Johnny Doesn't Flap: NT Is Ok! Cover Image
By Clay Morton, Gail Morton, Alex Merry (Illustrator)
$15.26
ISBN: 9781849057219
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Jessica Kingsley Publishers - October 21st, 2015

Johnny is different. He is never exactly on time, he can't seem to stick to a routine and he often speaks in cryptic idioms. Johnny is neurotypical, but that's OK. A picture book with a difference, Why Johnny Doesn't Flap turns the tables on common depictions of neurological difference by drolly revealing how people who are not on the autistic spectrum are perceived by those who are.


Since We're Friends: An Autism Picture Book Cover Image
By Celeste Shally, David Harrington (Illustrator), Alison Singer (Foreword by)
$11.66
ISBN: 9781616086565
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sky Pony - April 10th, 2012

  • Ideal for fans of My Brother Charlie, All My Stripes, and I See Things Differently: A First Look at Autism 
  • A delightful autism story book
  • A sweet story about two friends and how they help each other

Matt’s autism doesn’t keep him from having fun!


I Am Not a Label: 34 disabled artists, thinkers, athletes and activists from past and present Cover Image
By Cerrie Burnell, Lauren Mark Baldo (Illustrator)
$21.59
ISBN: 9780711247451
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wide Eyed Editions - July 7th, 2020

“An inclusive and upbeat collection ideal for classrooms and libraries” – School Library Journal

In this stylishly illustrated biography anthology, meet 34 artists, thinkers, athletes, and activists with disabilities, from past and present.


Unbroken: 13 Stories Starring Disabled Teens Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9780374306502
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - September 18th, 2018

This anthology explores disability in fictional tales told from the viewpoint of disabled characters, written by disabled creators. With stories in various genres about first loves, friendship, war, travel, and more, Unbroken will offer today's teen readers a glimpse into the lives of disabled people in the past, present, and future.