Charis Books and More Logo

Brittany's Picks

Brittany recently received her Ph.D. in Sociology from Georgia State University. She also works in health policy and research in addition to being a bookseller at Charis. She is passionate about queer activism, sex worker rights, and prison abolitionism. A Capricorn Sun, Aries ascendant, and moon in Pisces. She enjoys horror movies, gritty queer novels, and reading poetry to her plants. 

Holiday Gift Guide: 

Ya Horror Books

For the adult goth in your life

                                             For the boot-scootin' country queer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Binti: The Complete Trilogy Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780756416935
Availability: Backordered
Published: DAW - July 7th, 2020

Includes a brand-new Binti story!

Collected for the first time in a trade paperback omnibus edition, the Hugo- and Nebula-award-winning Binti trilogy, the story of one extraordinary girl's journey from her home to distant Oomza University.


Nature Poem Cover Image
$13.46
ISBN: 9781941040638
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tin House Books - May 9th, 2017

A book-length poem about how an American Indian writer can’t bring himself to write about nature, but is forced to reckon with colonial-white stereotypes, manifest destiny, and his own identity as an young, queer, urban-dwelling poet.

A Best Book of the Year at BuzzFeed, Interview, and more.

 


Revolting Prostitutes: The Fight for Sex Workers' Rights Cover Image
$16.16
ISBN: 9781786633613
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Verso - March 3rd, 2020

How the law harms sex workers—and what they want instead

Do you have to endorse prostitution in order to support sex worker rights? Should clients be criminalized, and can the police deliver justice?


Since I Laid My Burden Down Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781558614314
Availability: Backordered
Published: Amethyst Editions - June 13th, 2017

Whiting Award winner Brontez Purnell's debut novel is an uninhibited portrait of growing up gay in 1980s Alabama: exploring art and sex with "more layered insight than the page count should allow" (Hanif Abdurraqib, MTV News).


The Long Term: Resisting Life Sentences Working Toward Freedom Cover Image
By Alice Kim (Editor), Erica Meiners (Editor), Jill Petty (Editor)
$17.96
ISBN: 9781608468997
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Haymarket Books - October 9th, 2018

Long Term Offenders, or LTOs, is the state's term for those it condemns to effective death by imprisonment. Often serving sentences of sixty to eighty years, LTOs bear the brunt of the bipartisan embrace of mass incarceration heralded by the "tough on crime" agenda of the 1990s and 2000s.


The Only Good Indians Cover Image
$24.29
ISBN: 9781982136451
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - July 14th, 2020

A USA TODAY BESTSELLER
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
“One of 2020’s buzziest horror novels.” —Entertainment Weekly
A “Most Anticipated Books of Summer” selection in Esquire, Elle, Vulture, Time, AV Club, Bustle, and Literary Hub


Ring Shout Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250767028
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tordotcom - October 13th, 2020

Nebula, Locus, and Alex Award-winner P. Djèlí Clark returns with Ring Shout, a dark fantasy historical novella that gives a supernatural twist to the Ku Klux Klan's reign of terror

“A fantastical, brutal and thrilling triumph of the imagination...Clark’s combination of historical and political reimagining is cathartic, exhilarating and fresh.” —The New York Times


Mostly Dead Things Cover Image
$22.46
ISBN: 9781947793309
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tin House Books - June 4th, 2019

The celebrated New York Times Bestseller

A Best Book of the Year pick at the New York TimesNPRThe New YorkerTIMEWashington PostOprahmag.comThrillistShelf Awareness, Good Housekeeping and more.


My Autobiography of Carson McCullers: A Memoir Cover Image
$20.66
ISBN: 9781947793286
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tin House Books - February 4th, 2020

FINALIST FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD 

Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction


Juliet Takes a Breath Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780593108178
Availability: Backordered
Published: Dial Books - September 17th, 2019

A People magazine Best Book of Fall 2019
An Amazon Best Young Adult Book of 2019
"F***ing outstanding."--Roxane Gay, New York Times bestselling author


Hustling Verse: An Anthology of Sex Workers' Poetry Cover Image
By Amber Dawn (Editor), Justin DuCharme (Editor)
$16.16
ISBN: 9781551527819
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - October 15th, 2019

In this trailblazing anthology, more than fifty self-identified sex workers from all walks of the industry (survival and trade, past and present) explore their lived experience through the expressive nuance and beauty of poetry.


Mean Cover Image
$15.26
ISBN: 9781566894913
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Coffee House Press - November 7th, 2017

True crime, memoir, and ghost story, Mean is the bold and hilarious tale of Myriam Gurba's coming of age as a queer, mixed-race Chicana. Blending radical formal fluidity and caustic humor, Gurba takes on sexual violence, small towns, and race, turning what might be tragic into piercing, revealing comedy.


The Third Rainbow Girl: The Long Life of a Double Murder in Appalachia Cover Image
$24.30
ISBN: 9780316449236
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hachette Books - January 21st, 2020

*** A NEW YORK TIMES "100 Notable Books of 2020" ***

A stunning, complex narrative about the fractured legacy of a decades-old double murder in rural West Virginia -- and the writer determined to put the pieces back together.

 
 
In the early evening of June 25, 1980 in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, two middle-class outsiders named Vick


Sour Heart: Stories Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780399589409
Availability: Backordered
Published: Lenny - May 1st, 2018

A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith and Helen Oyeyemi.


Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl Cover Image
$15.26
ISBN: 9780525566182
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - April 23rd, 2019

“HOT” —Maggie Nelson
“TIGHT” —Eileen Myles
“DEEP” —Michelle Tea


The Argonauts Cover Image
$13.50
ISBN: 9781555977351
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - January 26th, 2016

An intrepid voyage out to the frontiers of the latest thinking about love, language, and family


Becoming Dangerous: Witchy Femmes, Queer Conjurers, and Magical Rebels Cover Image
By Katie West (Editor), Jasmine Elliott (Editor), Kristen J. Sollee (Foreword by)
$15.26
ISBN: 9781578636709
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Weiser Books - April 1st, 2019

"A fierce and voluble refutation of the patriarchy and its soul-crushing oppression of female power. These writers make clear that as witches, femmes, and queers, they will use their own strength, ingenious rituals, beauty routines, and spells to rise above and beyond the limits of racism/classism and objectifications set by a male-dominated society.


Undead Girl Gang Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780451478245
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Razorbill - May 14th, 2019

"A fun, fast read...it will resonate with readers who dabble in any sort of arts, dark or otherwise." --NPR.org

"With a singular and hilariously cutting teen voice, UNDEAD GIRL GANG is sure to be one of the most talked-about YA novels of the year." --BookPage


Beyond Survival: Strategies and Stories from the Transformative Justice Movement Cover Image
$16.20
ISBN: 9781849353625
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: AK Press - January 21st, 2020

Transformative justice seeks to solve the problem of violence at the grassroots level, without relying on punishment, incarceration, or policing. Community-based approaches to preventing crime and repairing its damage have existed for centuries. However, in the punative atmosphere of contemporary criminal justice systems, they are often marginalized and operate under the radar.


Lock Every Door: A Novel Cover Image
$15.30
ISBN: 9781524745165
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - May 5th, 2020

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“The Bartholomew is an apartment building of terrifying secrets. You'll find startling twists and alarming surprises down every dark hallway. It's too late to lock the doors—the horror is already inside. My favorite thriller of the year!”


My Sister, the Serial Killer: A Novel Cover Image
$13.46
ISBN: 9780525564201
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - July 30th, 2019

NOMINATED FOR THE 2019 BOOKER PRIZE 
WINNER OF THE LA TIMES BOOK PRIZE FOR MYSTERY/THRILLER
FINALIST FOR THE 2019 WOMEN'S PRIZE



My Best Friend's Exorcism: A Novel Cover Image
$13.49
ISBN: 9781594749766
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quirk Books - July 11th, 2017

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires comes an unholy hybrid of Beaches and The Exorcist that blends teen angst, adolescent drama, unspeakable horrors, and a mix of ’80s pop songs into a pulse-pounding supernatural thriller.


Mexican Gothic Cover Image
$24.30
ISBN: 9780525620785
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Del Rey - June 30th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “It’s Lovecraft meets the Brontës in Latin America, and after a slow-burn start Mexican Gothic gets seriously weird.”—The Guardian
 


Pizza Girl: A Novel Cover Image
$22.46
ISBN: 9780385545723
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - June 9th, 2020

"Fresh, funny, bittersweet...This book delivers humor, humanity and hubris."--New York Times Book Review


The Houseguest: And Other Stories Cover Image
By Amparo Dávila, Matthew Gleeson (Translated by), Audrey Harris (Translated by)
$13.46
ISBN: 9780811228213
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New Directions - November 27th, 2018

The first collection in English of an endlessly surprising, master storyteller