Charis Books and More Logo

Brittany's Picks

Brittany is currently a doctoral student at Georgia State University. She is passionate about queer activism, sex worker rights, and prison abolitionism. A capricorn sun, aries ascendant, and moon in pisces. She enjoys horror movies, gritty queer novels, and reading poetry to her plants. 

Mostly Dead Things Cover Image
$22.46
ISBN: 9781947793309
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tin House Books - June 4th, 2019

The celebrated New York Times Bestseller

A Best Book of the Year pick at the New York TimesNPRThe New YorkerTIMEWashington PostOprahmag.comThrillistShelf Awareness, Good Housekeeping and more.


My Autobiography of Carson McCullers: A Memoir Cover Image
$20.66
ISBN: 9781947793286
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tin House Books - February 4th, 2020

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD

“Gorgeous, symphonic, tender, and brilliant, My Autobiography of Carson McCullers is a monumental achievement." —Carmen Maria Machado


Juliet Takes a Breath Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9780593108178
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - September 17th, 2019

A People magazine Best Book of Fall 2019
An Amazon Best Young Adult Book of 2019
"F***ing outstanding."--Roxane Gay, New York Times bestselling author


Hustling Verse: An Anthology of Sex Workers' Poetry Cover Image
By Amber Dawn (Editor), Justin DuCharme (Editor)
$16.16
ISBN: 9781551527819
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - October 15th, 2019

In this trailblazing anthology, more than fifty self-identified sex workers from all walks of the industry (survival and trade, past and present) explore their lived experience through the expressive nuance and beauty of poetry.


Mean Cover Image
$15.26
ISBN: 9781566894913
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Coffee House Press - November 7th, 2017

True crime, memoir, and ghost story, Mean is the bold and hilarious tale of Myriam Gurba's coming of age as a queer, mixed-race Chicana. Blending radical formal fluidity and caustic humor, Gurba takes on sexual violence, small towns, and race, turning what might be tragic into piercing, revealing comedy.


The Third Rainbow Girl: The Long Life of a Double Murder in Appalachia Cover Image
$24.30
ISBN: 9780316449236
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hachette Books - January 21st, 2020

A stunning, complex narrative about the fractured legacy of a decades-old double murder in rural West Virginia-and the writer determined to put the pieces back together.


Sour Heart: Stories Cover Image
$15.30
ISBN: 9780399589409
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lenny - May 1st, 2018

A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith and Helen Oyeyemi.


Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl Cover Image
$15.26
ISBN: 9780525566182
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - April 23rd, 2019

“HOT” —Maggie Nelson
“TIGHT” —Eileen Myles
“DEEP” —Michelle Tea


The Argonauts Cover Image
$13.50
ISBN: 9781555977351
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - January 26th, 2016

An intrepid voyage out to the frontiers of the latest thinking about love, language, and family


Becoming Dangerous: Witchy Femmes, Queer Conjurers, and Magical Rebels Cover Image
By Katie West (Editor), Jasmine Elliott (Editor), Kristen J. Sollee (Foreword by)
$15.26
ISBN: 9781578636709
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Weiser Books - April 1st, 2019

"A fierce and voluble refutation of the patriarchy and its soul-crushing oppression of female power. These writers make clear that as witches, femmes, and queers, they will use their own strength, ingenious rituals, beauty routines, and spells to rise above and beyond the limits of racism/classism and objectifications set by a male-dominated society.


Binti: The Complete Trilogy Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780756415181
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: DAW - February 5th, 2019

Includes a brand-new Binti story!

Collected for the first time in an omnibus edition, the Hugo- and Nebula-award-winning Binti trilogy, the story of one extraordinary girl's journey from her home to distant Oomza University.


Undead Girl Gang Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780451478245
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Razorbill - May 14th, 2019

"A fun, fast read...it will resonate with readers who dabble in any sort of arts, dark or otherwise." --NPR.org

"With a singular and hilariously cutting teen voice, UNDEAD GIRL GANG is sure to be one of the most talked-about YA novels of the year." --BookPage


Beyond Survival: Strategies and Stories from the Transformative Justice Movement Cover Image
$16.20
ISBN: 9781849353625
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: AK Press - January 21st, 2020

Transformative justice seeks to solve the problem of violence at the grassroots level, without relying on punishment, incarceration, or policing. Community-based approaches to preventing crime and repairing its damage have existed for centuries. However, in the punative atmosphere of contemporary criminal justice systems, they are often marginalized and operate under the radar.


Lock Every Door: A Novel Cover Image
$15.30
ISBN: 9781524745165
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - May 5th, 2020

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“The Bartholomew is an apartment building of terrifying secrets. You'll find startling twists and alarming surprises down every dark hallway. It's too late to lock the doors—the horror is already inside. My favorite thriller of the year!”


My Sister, the Serial Killer: A Novel Cover Image
$13.46
ISBN: 9780525564201
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - July 30th, 2019

NOMINATED FOR THE 2019 BOOKER PRIZE 
WINNER OF THE LA TIMES BOOK PRIZE FOR MYSTERY/THRILLER
FINALIST FOR THE 2019 WOMEN'S PRIZE



My Best Friend's Exorcism: A Novel Cover Image
$13.49
ISBN: 9781594749766
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quirk Books - July 11th, 2017

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires comes an unholy hybrid of Beaches and The Exorcist that blends teen angst, adolescent drama, unspeakable horrors, and a mix of ’80s pop songs into a pulse-pounding supernatural thriller.


Mexican Gothic Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780525620785
Availability: Backordered
Published: Del Rey - June 30th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “It’s Lovecraft meets the Brontës in Latin America, and after a slow-burn start Mexican Gothic gets seriously weird.”—The Guardian
 
IN DEVELOPMENT AS A HULU ORIGINAL LIMITED SERIES PRODUCED BY KELLY RIPA AND MARK CONSUELOS