Brittany's Picks

Brittany is currently a doctoral student at Georgia State University. She is passionate about queer activism, sex worker rights, and prison abolitionism. A capricorn sun, aries ascendant, and moon in pisces. She enjoys horror movies, gritty queer novels, and reading poetry to her plants. 

Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl Cover Image
$15.26
ISBN: 9780525566182
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - April 23rd, 2019

“HOT” —Maggie Nelson
“TIGHT” —Eileen Myles
“DEEP” —Michelle Tea


Her Body and Other Parties: Stories Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9781555977887
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - October 3rd, 2017

Finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction

“[These stories] vibrate with originality, queerness, sensuality and the strange.”—Roxane Gay

“In these formally brilliant and emotionally charged tales, Machado gives literal shape to women’s memories and hunger and desire. I couldn’t put it down.”—Karen Russell


The Argonauts Cover Image
$13.50
ISBN: 9781555977351
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - January 26th, 2016

An intrepid voyage out to the frontiers of the latest thinking about love, language, and family


Mean Cover Image
$15.26
ISBN: 9781566894913
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Coffee House Press - November 7th, 2017

True crime, memoir, and ghost story, Mean is the bold and hilarious tale of Myriam Gurba's coming of age as a queer, mixed-race Chicana. Blending radical formal fluidity and caustic humor, Gurba takes on sexual violence, small towns, and race, turning what might be tragic into piercing, revealing comedy.


Becoming Dangerous: Witchy Femmes, Queer Conjurers, and Magical Rebels Cover Image
By Katie West (Editor), Jasmine Elliott (Editor), Kristen J. Sollée (Foreword by)
$15.26
ISBN: 9781578636709
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Weiser Books - April 2019

"A fierce and voluble refutation of the patriarchy and its soul-crushing oppression of female power. These writers make clear that as witches, femmes, and queers, they will use their own strength, ingenious rituals, beauty routines, and spells to rise above and beyond the limits of racism/classism and objectifications set by a male-dominated society.


Sour Heart: Stories Cover Image
$15.30
ISBN: 9780399589409
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lenny - May 2018

A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith and Helen Oyeyemi.


Nature Poem Cover Image
$13.46
ISBN: 9781941040638
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tin House Books - May 9th, 2017

Nature Poem follows Teebs--a young, queer, American Indian (or NDN) poet--who can't bring himself to write a nature poem. For the reservation-born, urban-dwelling hipster, the exercise feels stereotypical, reductive, and boring. He hates nature. He prefers city lights to the night sky. He'd slap a tree across the face.


Unapologetic: A Black, Queer, and Feminist Mandate for Radical Movements Cover Image
$20.66
ISBN: 9780807019412
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Beacon Press - August 28th, 2018

A manifesto from one of America's most influential activists which disrupts political, economic, and social norms by reimagining the Black Radical Tradition.