Charis Books and More Logo

Brittany's Picks

Brittany is currently a doctoral student at Georgia State University. She is passionate about queer activism, sex worker rights, and prison abolitionism. A capricorn sun, aries ascendant, and moon in pisces. She enjoys horror movies, gritty queer novels, and reading poetry to her plants. 

Mostly Dead Things Cover Image
$22.46
ISBN: 9781947793309
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tin House Books - June 4th, 2019

The celebrated New York Times Bestseller

A Best Book of the Year pick at the New York TimesNPRThe New YorkerTIMEWashington PostOprahmag.comThrillistShelf Awareness, Good Housekeeping and more.


My Autobiography of Carson McCullers: A Memoir Cover Image
$20.66
ISBN: 9781947793286
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tin House Books - February 4th, 2020

“Gorgeous, symphonic, tender, and brilliant, My Autobiography of Carson McCullers is a monumental achievement." -Carmen Maria Machado


Juliet Takes a Breath Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9780593108178
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - September 17th, 2019

A People magazine Best Book of Fall 2019
An Amazon Best Young Adult Book of 2019
"F***ing outstanding."--Roxane Gay, New York Times bestselling author


Hustling Verse: An Anthology of Sex Workers' Poetry Cover Image
By Amber Dawn (Editor), Justin DuCharme (Editor)
$16.16
ISBN: 9781551527819
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - October 15th, 2019

In this trailblazing anthology, more than fifty self-identified sex workers from all walks of the industry (survival and trade, past and present) explore their lived experience through the expressive nuance and beauty of poetry.


Dead Blondes and Bad Mothers: Monstrosity, Patriarchy, and the Fear of Female Power Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9781612197920
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Melville House - August 13th, 2019

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year

“Smart, funny, and fearless.” —THE BOSTON GLOBE

Women have always been seen as monsters. Men from Aristotle to Freud have insisted that women are freakish creatures, capable of immense destruction.
Maybe they are. And maybe that’s a good thing....


Mean Cover Image
$15.26
ISBN: 9781566894913
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Coffee House Press - November 7th, 2017

True crime, memoir, and ghost story, Mean is the bold and hilarious tale of Myriam Gurba's coming of age as a queer, mixed-race Chicana. Blending radical formal fluidity and caustic humor, Gurba takes on sexual violence, small towns, and race, turning what might be tragic into piercing, revealing comedy.


A Year Without a Name: A Memoir Cover Image
$23.40
ISBN: 9780316444965
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown and Company - October 15th, 2019

LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FINALIST


From "an extraordinary new voice," a "passionate and clear-eyed and unputdownable" meditation on queerness, family, and desire. (Mary Karr)


The Third Rainbow Girl: The Long Life of a Double Murder in Appalachia Cover Image
$24.30
ISBN: 9780316449236
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hachette Books - January 21st, 2020

A stunningly written investigation of the murder of two young women--showing how a violent crime casts a shadow over an entire community.


You Were Born for This: Astrology for Radical Self-Acceptance Cover Image
$22.49
ISBN: 9780062840639
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperOne - January 7th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER


From beloved astrologer Chani Nicholas comes an essential guide for radical self-acceptance.


Sour Heart: Stories Cover Image
$15.30
ISBN: 9780399589409
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lenny - May 1st, 2018

A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith and Helen Oyeyemi.


Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl Cover Image
$15.26
ISBN: 9780525566182
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - April 23rd, 2019

“HOT” —Maggie Nelson
“TIGHT” —Eileen Myles
“DEEP” —Michelle Tea


Her Body and Other Parties: Stories Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9781555977887
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - October 3rd, 2017

Finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction

“[These stories] vibrate with originality, queerness, sensuality and the strange.”—Roxane Gay

“In these formally brilliant and emotionally charged tales, Machado gives literal shape to women’s memories and hunger and desire. I couldn’t put it down.”—Karen Russell


The Argonauts Cover Image
$13.50
ISBN: 9781555977351
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - January 26th, 2016

An intrepid voyage out to the frontiers of the latest thinking about love, language, and family


Becoming Dangerous: Witchy Femmes, Queer Conjurers, and Magical Rebels Cover Image
By Katie West (Editor), Jasmine Elliott (Editor), Kristen J. Sollee (Foreword by)
$15.26
ISBN: 9781578636709
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Weiser Books - April 1st, 2019

"A fierce and voluble refutation of the patriarchy and its soul-crushing oppression of female power. These writers make clear that as witches, femmes, and queers, they will use their own strength, ingenious rituals, beauty routines, and spells to rise above and beyond the limits of racism/classism and objectifications set by a male-dominated society.