Charis Books and More Logo

This Is My Brain in Love (Hardcover)

Thank you so much for your continued support! We love our feminist community! Please note: Most orders are processed within 24-48 hours and ship or are available for pickup within 1-5 business days.  Our website reflects what is available to order, NOT what is on our shelves. To check in stock availability or if you have other questions, please call the store (404)524-0304 12noon-6pm daily.

This Is My Brain in Love Cover Image
List Price: $17.99
Our Price: $16.19
(Save: $1.80 10%)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Told in dual narrative, This Is My Brain in Love is a stunning YA contemporary romance, exploring mental health, race and, ultimately, self-acceptance, for fans of I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter and Emergency Contact.
p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 12.0px 0.0px; line-height: 14.0px; font: 13.0px Times; color: #000000; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000} span.s1 {font-kerning: none}
Jocelyn Wu has just three wishes for her junior year: To make it through without dying of boredom, to direct a short film with her BFF Priya Venkatram, and to get at least two months into the year without being compared to or confused with Peggy Chang, the only other Chinese girl in her grade.

Will Domenici has two goals: to find a paying summer internship, and to prove he has what it takes to become an editor on his school paper.

Then Jocelyn's father tells her their family restaurant may be going under, and all wishes are off. Because her dad has the marketing skills of a dumpling, it's up to Jocelyn and her unlikely new employee, Will, to bring A-Plus Chinese Garden into the 21st century (or, at least, to Facebook).

What starts off as a rocky partnership soon grows into something more. But family prejudices and the uncertain future of A-Plus threaten to keep Will and Jocelyn apart. It will take everything they have and more, to save the family restaurant and their budding romance.

About the Author


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Georgia; color: #222a35} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} span.s2 {font-kerning: none; color: #000000} span.s3 {text-decoration: underline ; font-kerning: none; color: #0000ee} I. W. Gregorio is a practicing surgeon by day, masked avenging YA writer by night. After getting her MD at Yale School of Medicine, she did her residency at Stanford, where she met the intersex patient who inspired her debut novel, None of the Above (Balzer + Bray / HarperCollins), which is a 2016 Lambda Literary Award finalist, a Spring 2015 Publishers Weekly Flying Start, an ALA Booklist Top Ten Sports Book for Youth, and a 2015 ABC Children's Group Best Book for Young Readers. It was also named to the 2016 American Library Association Rainbow List. She is proud to be a board member of interACT: Advocates for Intersex Youth, and is a founding member of We Need Diverse Books. Her writing has appeared in The Washington Post, Newsweek, Scientific American, San Francisco Chronicle, San Jose Mercury News and New York Post, among others. She lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and two children. Find her on Instagram and Twitter as @iwgregorio, or on her website at www.iwgregorio.com.

Praise For…



p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}



"Anxiety and depression can turn your brain into a fake news factory. With THIS IS MY BRAIN IN LOVE, I.W. Gregorio delivers a warm, honest, and timely story about friendship, family, love and asking for help when you need it. The chemistry between Jocelyn and Will is so crackling and irresistible, you'll fall in love, too."—Mary McCoy, author of Printz Honor Book I, Claudia


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Georgia}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}



"If there's only one book you read this year, please let it be This is Your Brain in Love! Everyone needs to read this beautiful and important book not only because it manages to be both laugh-out-loud funny and grab-a-tissue moving, but it's a novel that can open eyes, change minds, and hopefully change lives. Gregorio's writing made my heart hurt even as I was falling in love with Jocelyn and Will, two characters as complex and real as you'll ever meet on a page."— p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Georgia} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} Ellen Oh, author of A Thousand Beginnings and Endings


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Georgia}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}



"Sweet, funny and full of feeling, This is My Brain in Love is a heartfelt and earnest look at mental health in the Asian American community. Gregorio captures so many truths about living with anxiety and depression in a story full of humor, wisdom and generosity. This is a book I needed as a teenager."—Kelly Loy Gilbert, author of Lost Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist Picture Us in the Light


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 9.0px Helvetica}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}









p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Georgia}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}



"This is My Brain in Love is a sweet, honest love story about navigating mental illness, cross-cultural relationships, and self-acceptance. Humor and heart, happy and sad combine into a complex, contemporary romance as perfectly-blended as amah's dumplings."
Mackenzie Lee, NYT bestselling author of The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue and Loki: Where Mischief Lies


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Georgia}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}



"Line by zinging line, I.W. Gregorio's second novel delights your brain and steals your heart. A deliciously, delicately wrought tapestry of culture, families and the fragile parts of ourselves that we should all learn to embrace."— p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Georgia} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} Abigail Hing Wen, author of Loveboat, Taipei


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Georgia}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}



"Authentic and fresh, I.W. Gregorio serves up a first-rate romance between two teens whose differences may prove too hot to handle. This is my bookish heart in love."—Stacey Lee, award winning author of Outrun the Moon


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Georgia}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}



"Amazing story of the struggle to balance love and brains, and instead finding joy. Absolute perfection."


Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of Speak and Shout


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Georgia}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}



"A sweet, entertaining romance."—Kirkus

*"Deftly navigating issues of race and mental health, as well as giving voice to the reality of American teens born to immigrant families, many of whom grapple with different cultural and familial expectations, Gregorio has written a heartwarming foodie rom-com."—School Library Journal, starred review

*"Readers will come to this story for dynamic romantic and familial relationships, but they'll stay for its smart exploration of depression, anxiety, and self-care."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

"...will win readers with its sweet, sparky romance and its business-savvy plotline that celebrates young people working hard to overcome the odds."—BCCB
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316423823
ISBN-10: 0316423823
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 14th, 2020
Pages: 384