Charis Books and More Logo

Bestsellers

Begin the World Over By Kung Li Sun Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781849354721
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: AK Press - August 23rd, 2022

"This historical fiction with a twist has an intriguing plot that will make the reader ask how the world could be different."
--Booklist

A revolutionary tale of Black and Indigenous insurrection. History as it should have been.


All About Love: New Visions (Love Song to the Nation #1) By bell hooks Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060959470
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 30th, 2018

A New York Times bestseller and enduring classic, All About Love is the acclaimed first volume in feminist icon bell hooks' "Love Song to the Nation" trilogy.  All About Love reveals what causes a polarized society, and how to heal the divisions that cause suffering.


Do the Work!: An Antiracist Activity Book By W. Kamau Bell, Kate Schatz Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781523514281
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Workman Publishing Company - July 19th, 2022

Overwhelmed by racial injustice? Outraged by the news?


Parable of the Sower By Octavia E. Butler Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538732182
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 30th, 2019

This acclaimed post-apocalyptic novel of hope and terror from an award-winning author "pairs well with 1984 or The Handmaid's Tale" and includes a foreword by N. K. Jemisin (John Green, New York Times).


Koshersoul: The Faith and Food Journey of an African American Jew By Michael W. Twitty Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062891754
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amistad - August 9th, 2022

The James Beard award-winning author of the acclaimed The Cooking Gene explores the cultural crossroads of Jewish and African diaspora cuisine and issues of memory, identity, and food.


Journal of Radical Permission: A Daily Guide for Following Your Soul’s Calling By adrienne maree brown, Sonya Renee Taylor Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781523002429
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berrett-Koehler Publishers - August 2nd, 2022

Bestselling authors adrienne maree brown and Sonya Renee Taylor create an unforgettable and transformational experience of journaling your way into your most authentic self.

It’s time to claim our permission to live out our purpose.


The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma By Bessel van der Kolk, M.D. Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780143127741
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - September 8th, 2015

#1 New York Times bestseller

“Essential reading for anyone interested in understanding and treating traumatic stress and the scope of its impact on society.” —Alexander McFarlane, Director of the Centre for Traumatic Stress Studies


Babel: Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators' Revolution By R. F. Kuang Cover Image
$27.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780063021426
Published: Harper Voyager - August 23rd, 2022

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller from the author of The Poppy War  


Mutual Aid: Building Solidarity During This Crisis (and the Next) By Dean Spade Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781839762123
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Verso - October 27th, 2020

Mutual aid is the radical act of caring for each other while working to change the world.
 


One Last Stop By Casey McQuiston Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250244499
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - June 1st, 2021

*INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER*
*INSTANT USA TODAY BESTSELLER*
*INSTANT #1 INDIE BESTSELLER*


From the New York Times bestselling author of Red, White & Royal Blue comes a new romantic comedy that will stop readers in their tracks...


Pleasure Activism: The Politics of Feeling Good By Adrienne Maree Brown (Editor) Cover Image
By Adrienne Maree Brown (Editor)
$20.00
ISBN: 9781849353267
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: AK Press - March 19th, 2019

How do we make social justice the most pleasurable human experience? How can we awaken within ourselves desires that make it impossible to settle for anything less than a fulfilling life?


The Last White Man: A Novel By Mohsin Hamid Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593538814
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - August 2nd, 2022

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE SUMMER BY TIME, ELLE, USA TODAY, ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY AND MORE


“Perhaps Hamid’s most remarkable work yet … an extraordinary vision of human possibility.” –Ayad Akhtar, author of Homeland Elegies


Braiding Sweetgrass By Robin Wall Kimmerer Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781571313560
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Milkweed Editions - August 11th, 2015

A New York Times Bestseller
A Washington Post Bestseller
Named a Best Essay Collection of the Decade by Literary Hub


Greedy: Notes from a Bisexual Who Wants Too Much By Jen Winston Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781982179175
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - October 5th, 2021

Finalist for the 2022 Lambda Literary Award for Bisexual Nonfiction

A hilarious and whip-smart collection of essays, offering an intimate look at bisexuality, gender, and, of course, sex. Perfect for fans of Lindy West, Samantha Irby, and Rebecca Solnit—and anyone who wants, and deserves, to be seen.


The Body Is Not an Apology, Second Edition: The Power of Radical Self-Love By Sonya Renee Taylor, Ijeoma Oluo (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Sonya Renee Taylor, Ijeoma Oluo (Foreword by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781523090990
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berrett-Koehler Publishers - February 9th, 2021

"To build a world that works for everyone, we must first make the radical decision to love every facet of ourselves...'The body is not an apology' is the mantra we should all embrace." 
--Kimberlé Crenshaw, legal scholar and founder and Executive Director, African American Policy Forum 


Polysecure: Attachment, Trauma and Consensual Nonmonogamy By Jessica Fern, Eve Rickert (Foreword by), Nora Samaran (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Jessica Fern, Eve Rickert (Foreword by), Nora Samaran (Foreword by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781944934989
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thorntree Press - October 23rd, 2020

Attachment theory has entered the mainstream, but most discussions focus on how we can cultivate secure monogamous relationships. What if, like many people, you’re striving for secure, happy attachments with more than one partner? Polyamorous psychotherapist Jessica Fern breaks new ground by extending attachment theory into the realm of consensual nonmonogamy.


A Psalm for the Wild-Built (Monk & Robot #1) By Becky Chambers Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9781250236210
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tordotcom - July 13th, 2021

Winner of the Hugo Award!

In A Psalm for the Wild-Built, bestselling Becky Chambers's delightful new Monk and Robot series, gives us hope for the future.


Who Is Wellness For?: An Examination of Wellness Culture and Who It Leaves Behind By Fariha Roisin Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063077089
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Wave - June 14th, 2022

The multi-disciplinary artist and author of Like a Bird and How to Cure a Ghost explores the commodification and appropriation of wellness through the lens of social justice, providing resources to help anyone participate in self-care, regardless of race, identity, socioeconomic status or able-bodiedness.


Nevada: A Novel By Imogen Binnie Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780374606619
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - June 7th, 2022

One of Vogue's Best Books of 2022 So Far, Buzzfeed's Summer Books You Won’t Be Able To Put Down,
Book Riot's Best Summer Reads for 2022, and Dazed's Queer Books to Read in 2022


Belly of the Beast: The Politics of Anti-Fatness as Anti-Blackness By Da'Shaun L. Harrison, Kiese Laymon (Foreword by) Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781623175979
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: North Atlantic Books - August 10th, 2021

**The 2022 Lammy Award Winner in Transgender Nonfiction**
Exploring the intersections of Blackness, gender, fatness, health, and the violence of policing.