Charis Books and More Logo

Bestsellers

Love, Creekwood: A Simonverse Novella Cover Image
$13.49
ISBN: 9780063048126
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 30th, 2020

Fall in love all over again with the characters from the bestselling Simonverse novels in this highly anticipated epilogue novella. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli, the movie Love, Simon, and the new Hulu series spin-off, Love, Victor!


Gather Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9798621791155
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Independently Published - April 12th, 2020

Gather is a collection of soulful sayings, poetry, and flashes of insight sewn together into a sacred garment. Each thread was collected with reverence and care. The words here will weave their way into your heart and become a soft cover for you to land on.


Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower Cover Image
$16.20
ISBN: 9781250112880
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - March 5th, 2019

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER An Emma Watson "Our Shared Shelf" Selection for November/December 2018 • NAMED A BEST BOOK OF 2018/ MENTIONED BY: The New York Public Library Mashable • The Atlantic Bustle The Root • Politico Magazine ("What the 2020 Candidates Are Reading


Uprooting Racism: How White People Can Work for Racial Justice Cover Image
$22.49
ISBN: 9780865718654
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New Society Publishers - September 19th, 2017

Over 50,000 copies sold of earlier editions Powerful strategies and practical tools for white people committed to racial justice


Race Talk and the Conspiracy of Silence: Understanding and Facilitating Difficult Dialogues on Race Cover Image
$26.96
ISBN: 9781119241980
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wiley - February 1st, 2016

Turn Uncomfortable Conversations into Meaningful Dialogue

If you believe that talking about race is impolite, or that "colorblindness" is the preferred approach, you must read this book. Race Talk and the Conspiracy of Silence debunks the most pervasive myths using evidence, easy-to-understand examples, and practical tools.


So You Want to Talk About Race Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9781580058827
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Seal Press - September 24th, 2019

In this New York Times bestseller, Ijeoma Oluo offers a hard-hitting but user-friendly examination of race in America


Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781568585987
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bold Type Books - August 15th, 2017

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of How to Be an Antiracist, the National Book Award-winning masterwork revealing how racist ideas were created, spread, and became deeply rooted in American society.


Towards the Other America: Anti-Racist Resources for White People Taking Action for Black Lives Matter Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780827237094
Availability: Backordered
Published: Chalice Press - December 1st, 2015

​Chris Crass calls on all of us to join our values to the power of love and act with courage for a world where Black lives truly matter. A world where the death culture of white supremacy no longer devours the lives of Black people and no longer deforms the hearts and souls of white people.


The Racial Healing Handbook: Practical Activities to Help You Challenge Privilege, Confront Systemic Racism, and Engage in Collective Healing Cover Image
By Anneliese A. Singh, Tim Wise (Foreword by), Derald Wing Sue (Afterword by)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781684032709
Availability: Backordered
Published: New Harbinger Publications - August 1st, 2019

Waking Up White, and Finding Myself in the Story of Race Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780991331307
Availability: Backordered
Published: Elephant Room Press - January 9th, 2014

For twenty-five years, Debby Irving sensed inexplicable racial tensions in her personal and professional relationships. As a colleague and neighbor, she worried about offending people she dearly wanted to befriend. As an arts administrator, she didn't understand why her diversity efforts lacked traction.


Pass with Care: Memoirs Cover Image
$17.06
ISBN: 9781948340212
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dottir Press - June 9th, 2020

FEATURED IN PUBLISHERS WEEKLY's "STILL HERE, STILL QUEER: LBGTQ BOOKS 2020"


How to Be an Antiracist Cover Image
$24.30
ISBN: 9780525509288
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: One World - August 13th, 2019

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the National Book Award–winning author of Stamped from the Beginning comes a “groundbreaking” (Time) approach to understanding and uprooting racism and inequality in our society—and in ourselves.


White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780807047415
Availability: Backordered
Published: Beacon Press - June 26th, 2018

The New York Times best-selling book exploring the counterproductive reactions white people have when their assumptions about race are challenged, and how these reactions maintain racial inequality.


killing rage: Ending Racism Cover Image
$16.20
ISBN: 9780805050271
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Holt Paperbacks - October 15th, 1996

One of our country's premier cultural and social critics, bell hooks has always maintained that eradicating racism and eradicating sexism must go hand in hand. But whereas many women have been recognized for their writing on gender politics, the female voice has been all but locked out of the public discourse on race.


Raising White Kids: Bringing Up Children in a Racially Unjust America Cover Image
$17.09
ISBN: 9781501878077
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Abingdon Press - February 5th, 2019

Living in a racially unjust and deeply segregated nation creates unique conundrums for white children that begin early in life and impact development in powerful ways.


A is for Activist Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781609805395
Availability: Backordered
Published: Triangle Square - November 19th, 2013

“Reading it is almost like reading Howard Zinn's A People's History of the United States, but for two-year olds—full of pictures and rhymes and a little cat to find on every page that will delight the curious toddler and parents alike.”—Occupy Wall Street


Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?: And Other Conversations About Race Cover Image
$17.09
ISBN: 9780465060689
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Basic Books - September 5th, 2017

The classic, bestselling book on the psychology of racism -- now fully revised and updated


Kamala and Maya’s Big Idea Cover Image
$17.09
ISBN: 9780062937407
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 2nd, 2020

“A must read for little girls around the world.”
—Elizabeth Warren, U.S. Senator from Massachusetts

“An inspiring tale.”
—Stacey Abrams, Former Minority Leader, Georgia House of Representatives; Founder and Chair, Fair Fight Action


Not My Idea: A Book about Whiteness (Ordinary Terrible Things) Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781948340007
Availability: Backordered
Published: Dottir Press - September 4th, 2018

An honest explanation about how power and privilege factor into the lives of white children, at the expense of other groups, and how they can help seek justice. --THE NEW YORK TIMES

**A WHITE RAVEN 2019 SELECTION**

NAMED ONE OF SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL'S BEST BOOKS OF 2018


Brick by Brick Cover Image
By Giuliano Ferri, Giuliano Ferri (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9789888341184
Availability: Special Order
Published: mineditionUS - June 1st, 2016

A little mouse innocently plucks a flower from an old wall when a brick comes loose, and he can see through it for the first time. He and the other animals gradually and resolutely remove more and more bricks, until at last they can see another group of animals. Together they use the bricks that once divided them to construct a bridge to join their islands.


The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781620971932
Availability: Backordered
Published: New Press - January 7th, 2020

Named one of the most important nonfiction books of the 21st century by Entertainment Weekly' Slate' Chronicle of Higher Education' Literary Hub, Book Riot' and Zora


When a Bully is President: Truth and Creativity for Oppressive Times Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781945289088
Availability: Backordered
Published: Reflection Press - September 4th, 2017

Self-Care for Kids This is not your usual kid's book This book is a call to BE, to step forward and LOVE yourself, LOVE your community, know your history and your powerful place in it and strengthen your own creative power This book is a tool to use. I created it because I know you are an important part of our world and your strength matters.


Lead from the Outside: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change Cover Image
$15.30
ISBN: 9781250214805
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - March 26th, 2019

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER from the author of OUR TIME IS NOW

"Abrams's own grit, coupled with her descriptions of much stumbling and self-doubt, will...touch you in a way few books by politicians can." The New York Times

PRAISE FOR STACEY ABRAMS


Our Time Is Now: Power, Purpose, and the Fight for a Fair America Cover Image
$25.19
ISBN: 9781250257703
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - June 9th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"With each page, she inspires and empowers us to create systems that reflect a world in which all voices are heard and all people believe and feel that they matter."
Kerry Washington