Charis Books and More Logo

Bestsellers

We Deserve Monuments By Jas Hammonds Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250816559
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - November 29th, 2022

"An absolute must read." Buzzfeed

"A gripping portrayal of the South's inherent racism and a love story for queer Black girls." Teen Vogue


Rest Is Resistance: A Manifesto By Tricia Hersey Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316365215
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Spark - October 11th, 2022

***INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER***

Disrupt and push back against capitalism and white supremacy. In this book, Tricia Hersey, aka The Nap Bishop, encourages us to connect to the liberating power of rest, daydreaming, and naps as a foundation for healing and justice.

What would it be like to live in a well-rested world?


The Trauma of Caste: A Dalit Feminist Meditation on Survivorship, Healing, and Abolition By Thenmozhi Soundararajan, Tarana Burke (Foreword by), Aishah Shahidah Simmons (Epilogue by), Cornel West (Afterword by) Cover Image
By Thenmozhi Soundararajan, Tarana Burke (Foreword by), Aishah Shahidah Simmons (Epilogue by), Cornel West (Afterword by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781623177652
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: North Atlantic Books - November 15th, 2022

Instant Amazon Best Seller and Hot New Release

For readers of Caste and Radical Dharma, an urgent call to action to end caste apartheid, grounded in Dalit feminist abolition and engaged Buddhism.


All About Love: New Visions (Love Song to the Nation #1) By bell hooks Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060959470
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 30th, 2018

A New York Times bestseller and enduring classic, All About Love is the acclaimed first volume in feminist icon bell hooks' "Love Song to the Nation" trilogy.  All About Love reveals what causes a polarized society, and how to heal the divisions that cause suffering.


Bigger Than Bravery: Black Resilience and Reclamation in a Time of Pandemic By Valerie Boyd (Editor), Alice Walker (Contribution by), Kiese Laymon (Contribution by) Cover Image
By Valerie Boyd (Editor), Alice Walker (Contribution by), Kiese Laymon (Contribution by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781940596471
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lookout Books - November 15th, 2022

Big Indie Book of Fall, Publishers Weekly


"Valerie Boyd's Bigger Than Bravery isn't just an anthology; it is a survival guide."


Kiss Her Once for Me: A Novel By Alison Cochrun Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982191139
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - November 1st, 2022

A Best New Holiday Romance by PopSugar, BuzzFeed, Refinery29, and more!

The author of the “swoon-worthy debut” (Harper’s Bazaar) The Charm Offensive returns with a festive romantic comedy about a woman who fakes an engagement with her landlord…only to fall for his sister.


One year ago, recent Portland


Light in Gaza: Writings Born of Fire By Jehad Abusalim (Editor), Jennifer Bing (Editor), Mike Merryman-Lotze (Editor) Cover Image
By Jehad Abusalim (Editor), Jennifer Bing (Editor), Mike Merryman-Lotze (Editor)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781642596991
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Haymarket Books - August 30th, 2022

Imagining the future of Gaza beyond the cruelties of occupation and Apartheid, Light in Gaza is a powerful contribution to understanding Palestinian experience.


Anne Braden Speaks: Selected Writings and Speeches, 1947-1999 By Anne Braden, Ben Wilkins (Editor) Cover Image
By Anne Braden, Ben Wilkins (Editor)
$21.85
ISBN: 9781583679708
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Monthly Review Press - August 2nd, 2022

Anne Braden was raised to be a southern belle. Instead she became a revolutionary who helped to shape the self-understanding of the entire civil rights movement. From her earliest days as a trade unionist in the radical wing of the Congress of Industrial Organizations, she had been one of a small handful of white Southerners willing to take a stand against Jim Crow in the 1950s.


Saving Our Own Lives: A Liberatory Practice of Harm Reduction By Shira Hassan, Adrienne Maree Brown (Foreword by), Tourmaline (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Shira Hassan, Adrienne Maree Brown (Foreword by), Tourmaline (Introduction by)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781642598414
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Haymarket Books - October 25th, 2022

Liberatory Harm Reduction is one of the most important interventions of the 20th century, and yet a compilation of its critical stories and voices was, until now, seemingly nowhere to be found.


Demon Copperhead: A Novel By Barbara Kingsolver Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780063251922
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - October 18th, 2022

An Oprah’s Book Club Selection • An Instant New York Times Bestseller • An Instant Wall Street Journal Bestseller • A #1 Washington Post Bestseller 


No Choice: The Destruction of Roe v. Wade and the Fight to Protect a Fundamental American Right By Becca Andrews Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781541768390
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: PublicAffairs - October 11th, 2022

An in-depth look at the legacy of Roe v. Wade, and on-the-ground reporting from the front lines of the battle to protect the right to choose

The pieces started to fall in 2019 when a wave of anti-abortion laws went into effect.


Begin the World Over By Kung Li Sun Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781849354721
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: AK Press - August 23rd, 2022

"This historical fiction with a twist has an intriguing plot that will make the reader ask how the world could be different."
--Booklist

A revolutionary tale of Black and Indigenous insurrection. History as it should have been.


Fables and Spells: Collected and New Short Fiction and Poetry By Adrienne Maree Brown Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781849354509
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: AK Press - November 8th, 2022

"The 70 short stories and poems that make up Brown's phenomenal debut collection (after the novella Grievers) explore social justice through an Afrofuturist lens...It's a masterful mix of genre and form that showcases Brown's range and skill. This should be required reading for anyone looking for Black feminist speculative literature."


Organize, Fight, Win: Black Communist Women's Political Writing By Charisse Burden-Stelly, Jodi Dean Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781839764974
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Verso - October 4th, 2022

Black Communist women throughout the early to mid-twentieth century fought for and led mass campaigns in the service of building collective power in the fight for liberation. Through concrete materialist analysis of the conditions of Black workers, these women argued that racial and economic equality can only be achieved by overthrowing capitalism.


The Future Is Disabled: Prophecies, Love Notes and Mourning Songs By Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781551528915
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - October 4th, 2022

In The Future Is Disabled, Leah Laksmi Piepzna-Samarasinha asks some provocative questions: What if, in the near future, the majority of people will be disabled―and what if that's not a bad thing?


Red Hot City: Housing, Race, and Exclusion in Twenty-First-Century Atlanta By Dan Immergluck Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780520387645
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of California Press - October 11th, 2022

An incisive examination of how growth-at-all-costs planning and policy have exacerbated inequality and racial division in Atlanta.
 
Atlanta, the capital of the American South, is at the red-hot core of expansion, inequality, and political relevance.


Babel: Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators' Revolution By R. F. Kuang Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063021426
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Voyager - August 23rd, 2022

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller from the author of The Poppy War  


Mama's Home By Shay Youngblood, Lo Harris (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Shay Youngblood, Lo Harris (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593180228
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Make Me a World - October 18th, 2022

A gorgeously illustrated picture book that is a powerful love letter to chosen families and the village that raises us. A young girls basks in the love of her community--which includes not only her mother but the many different women who make up her world.


The Light We Carry: Overcoming in Uncertain Times By Michelle Obama Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780593237465
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown - November 15th, 2022

#1 NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER • ONE OF TIME’S 100 MUST-READ BOOKS OF 2022 • In an inspiring follow-up to her critically acclaimed, #1 bestselling memoir Becoming, former First Lady Michelle Obama shares practical wisdom and powerful strategies for staying hopeful and balanced in today’s highly uncertain world.