Charis Books and More Logo

Home

Search for your next book

Search form

Shopping cart

Welcome to Charis Books and More, the South's oldest independent feminist bookstore, celebrating radical and independent voices in the heart of the South since 1974! We are located in Decatur, GA, part of metro Atlanta, and we are proud to be the school store partner for Agnes Scott College. We specialize in diverse and unique children's books, feminist, and cultural studies books, books on anti-racism and ending white supremacy, and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer fiction and non-fiction. Not sure what to read? Our staff picks and reading lists are a great place to start. We're open for in-person shopping 7 days a week! 10am-7pm Mon-Sat, 12pm-6pm Sun.

 

 

 

UPCOMING EVENTS

Tue, 11/30/2021 - 12:00am to 11:45pm
Support Charis Circle, our non-profit programming arm, on GA Gives Giving Tuesday by making a pledge of any amount.
Wed, 12/01/2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
This group is designed to support the ongoing development of parents and educators of self-identified genderqueer and/or trans children, teens, or young adults, as well as children who are “gender creative,” gender non-conforming.
Thu, 12/02/2021 - 7:00pm
Random House invites you to join Dr. Brené Brown for a special, one-night-only, event to launch Atlas of the Heart.
Thu, 12/02/2021 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm
A brilliant analysis of the foundations of racist policing in America: the day-to-day brutalities, largely hidden from public view.
Fri, 12/03/2021 - 8:00pm to 10:30pm
Charis is joining the invitation issued by Las Maestras Center for feminists far and wide to celebrate: Bridge Turns 40: A live streamed event on LMC's youtube Channel.
Mon, 12/06/2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
This is a group for 12-18-year-old trans*people, people questioning their own gender, and aspiring allies.
Mon, 12/06/2021 - 8:00pm to 9:00pm
This is a group for people 18+ and is welcoming to people who are in any stage of their journey including people who are in their 30s, 40s, 50s, 60s, and beyond, who are questioning their gender or just now coming out as trans in adulthood.
Wed, 12/08/2021 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm
A Black immortal in 1930's Los Angeles must recover the memory of her past in order to save the world in this extraordinarily affecting novel for readers of N. K. Jemisin and Octavia E. Butler.
Tue, 11/30/2021 - 12:00am to 11:45pm
Support Charis Circle, our non-profit programming arm, on GA Gives Giving Tuesday by making a pledge of any amount.
Wed, 12/01/2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
This group is designed to support the ongoing development of parents and educators of self-identified genderqueer and/or trans children, teens, or young adults, as well as children who are “gender creative,” gender non-conforming.
Thu, 12/02/2021 - 7:00pm
Random House invites you to join Dr. Brené Brown for a special, one-night-only, event to launch Atlas of the Heart.
Thu, 12/02/2021 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm
A brilliant analysis of the foundations of racist policing in America: the day-to-day brutalities, largely hidden from public view.
Fri, 12/03/2021 - 8:00pm to 10:30pm
Charis is joining the invitation issued by Las Maestras Center for feminists far and wide to celebrate: Bridge Turns 40: A live streamed event on LMC's youtube Channel.
Mon, 12/06/2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
This is a group for 12-18-year-old trans*people, people questioning their own gender, and aspiring allies.
Mon, 12/06/2021 - 8:00pm to 9:00pm
This is a group for people 18+ and is welcoming to people who are in any stage of their journey including people who are in their 30s, 40s, 50s, 60s, and beyond, who are questioning their gender or just now coming out as trans in adulthood.
Wed, 12/08/2021 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm
A Black immortal in 1930's Los Angeles must recover the memory of her past in order to save the world in this extraordinarily affecting novel for readers of N. K. Jemisin and Octavia E. Butler.

ACCESSIBILITY

Charis Books is a fully wheelchair accessible space with on site van accessible parking, two ramps, and additional overflow accessible parking nearby. Most of our shelves are on wheels and can be moved to provide additional access. Our bathrooms are wheelchair accessible and gender neutral with motion activated fixtures. Both bathrooms have wheelchair accessible baby changing tables. Our directional signs are written in braille. Our events are mic'd for sound. We caption videos when we show them in the space. Free ASL interpretation is available for most Charis Circle programs upon request. Please email info@chariscircle.org to request interpretation as early as possible. We have several different kinds of seating for events. If you need a wider or sturdier chair and don't immediately see one available, please let us know and we will help you find one that fits your body. The space has all LED lighting. The space is not scent or chemical free but we do our best to minimize the use of chemicals and scents throughout the space and use low VOC materials whenever possible. If you have specific questions about the space or how an event can be made more accessible to you, please do not hesitate to contact us at info@chariscircle.org.