The Gallery of Unfinished Girls Launch Party with Lauren Karcz

Event date: 
Friday, July 28, 2017 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm

Join us in celebrating the launch of Atlanta author Lauren Karcz's debut novel, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls. Lauren will read, answer questions and sign books!

About the book:A beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap. ​Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn’t been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year. Her lack of inspiration might be because her abuela is in a coma. Or the fact that Mercedes is in love with her best friend, Victoria, but is too afraid to admit her true feelings. Despite Mercedes’s creative block, art starts to show up in unexpected ways. A piano appears on her front lawn one morning, and a mysterious new neighbor invites Mercedes to paint with her at the Red Mangrove  At the Estate, Mercedes can create in ways she hasn’t ever before. But Mercedes can’t take anything out of the Estate, including her new-found clarity. Mercedes can’t live both lives forever, and ultimately she must choose between this perfect world of art and truth and a much messier reality.

This is a Charis Circle From Margin to Center Literary Event. The Suggested Donation is $5.

Event address: 
1189 Euclid Ave. NE
Charis Books and More
Atlanta, GA 30307
The Gallery of Unfinished Girls Cover Image
$16.19
ISBN: 9780062467775
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Teen - July 25th, 2017

A beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap.

Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn't been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year.