Daughter of Providence (Compact Disc)

Daughter of Providence Cover Image
List Price: $44.99
Our Price: $40.49
(Save: $4.50 10%)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Summer, 1934: Anne Dodge was raised by her old-money, New England Protestant father in the small coastal town of Warwick, Rhode Island. She has always been told that her Portuguese mother abandoned them when Anne was a small child, and died without ever contacting them again. After her mother's death, Anne learns that she has a half-sister, Maria Cristina, who was raised among Portuguese immigrants - and when Maria Christina comes to stay with Anne and her father, ugly truths begin to surface about what really happened between her parents, catalyzing events that end in loss and rediscovery.

About the Author


Julie Drew grew up in Florida, and attended the University of South Florida where she earned her B.A. in Creative Writing, and M.A. and Ph.D. in English. She is currently Professor of English at The University of Akron. She has done a little traveling, and lived for a year in China with her family. Julie has published numerous academic works, and nonfiction essays and new-fiction reviews in the Boston Globe and Cleveland Plain Dealer, respectively.READER BIOProducer Tavia Gilbert is an AudioFile Earphones Award winner, an Audie Award nominee, and a Parent s Choice Award winner. She makes her home in Portland, Maine, where she works as a writer and a stage and voice actor. Tavia produces, directs, and narrates unique audiobooks, full-cast recordings, and documentaries, and she is currently pursuing an MFA in creative nonfiction at the Vermont College of Fine Arts."

Praise For…


"...promising... Anne, 23, is a memorable heroine and narrator." - Publishers Weekly

"First novelist Drew draws a careful portrait of both social and family problems." - Kirkus Reviews

"A sweeping drama...Drew perfectly captures the old New England feel of her shore-town setting and lavishes attention on the period details that transport readers back to the 1930s...Fans of Tara Hyland and Elizabeth Bard will love this poignant page-turner..." - Booklist

"Anne is a sympathetic heroine, and Drew's storytelling is compelling." - Cleveland Plain Dealer

"...a beautifully written and moving debut novel by an important new voice in American fiction." - BookReporter.com

Product Details
ISBN: 9781611202472
ISBN-10: 1611202477
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Publication Date: July 26th, 2011
Language: English