Daughter of Providence (Hardcover)

Daughter of Providence Cover Image
$24.95
Special Order

Description


Julie Drew's extraordinary novel is a breakthrough work in the tradition of Richard Russo and Annie Proulx. summer, 1934: Anne Dodge, raised by her old-money father in a small Rhode island coastal town, has always been told that her mother abandoned them. But then Anne learns that she has a half- sister, Maria Cristina --and when Maria Cristina comes to live with Anne and her father, ugly truths begin to surface about the family Within a context of jazz, the end of Prohibition, and stifling gender expectations, Daughter of Providence is a gripping and seductive summer read. this story of loss and rediscovery will resonate with readers long after the final page.

About the Author


Julie Drew is associate Professor of English at the University of Akron, where she teaches writing, film, and cultural studies.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781590204627
ISBN-10: 159020462X
Publisher: Overlook Press
Publication Date: August 4th, 2011
Pages: 320
Language: English