Packaging Girlhood: Rescuing Our Daughters from Marketers' Schemes (Hardcover)

Packaging Girlhood: Rescuing Our Daughters from Marketers' Schemes Cover Image
$24.95
Special Order

Description


The stereotype-laden message, delivered through clothes, music, books, and TV, is essentially a continuous plea for girls to put their energies into beauty products, shopping, fashion, and boys. This constant marketing, cheapening of relationships, absence of good women role models, and stereotyping and sexualization of girls is something that parents need to first understand before they can take action.

Lamb and Brown teach parents how to understand these influences, give them guidance on how to talk to their daughters about these negative images, and provide the tools to help girls make positive choices about the way they are in the world.

In the tradition of books like Reviving Ophelia, Odd Girl Out, Queen Bees and Wannabees that examine the world of girls, this book promises to not only spark debate but help parents to help their daughters.

About the Author


Sharon Lamb, Ed.D., author of The Secret Lives of Girls, is professor of Psychology at Saint Michael's College in Vermont. She not only has done research on girls and teens but has listened to their struggles in her private practice. Lyn Mikel Brown, Ed.D., professor of Education at Colby College in Maine, is co-author, with Carol Gilligan, of Meeting at the Crossroads: Women's Psychology and Girls' Development. She works with girls at her nonprofit organization, Hardy Girls Healthy Women (www.hardygirlshealthywomen.org).
Product Details
ISBN: 9780312352509
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: August 8th, 2006
Pages: 336